Top Ten Books From My Childhood (or teen years) that I’d love to revisit!

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the lovely The Broke and The Bookish. Each week they come up with a list for us to complete. This week the topic are the top ten books from my childhood or teen years that I’d love to revisit.

As ever, click the book image to get to the Goodreads page!

139226Β 109019

The Demon Headmaster- Gillian Cross– I recently reread this book for University and I still loved it as much as I did as a young child. I have fond memories of my sister reading this book (amongst many she read to me).

Matilda- Roald Dahl- It wouldn’t be a post about my favourite books as a child/teen without Roald Dahl. His books WERE my childhood. Matilda is one of my absolute favourites!

1040299Β 1321717

Anything Enid Blyton. She was one of my favourites! Her books may feel a little dated now, but I think children still enjoy them!

I adored the Goosebumps series! Just SO good!

Double ActΒ Kristy's Great Idea (The Baby-Sitters Club, #1)

My sister isn’t responsible for getting me into Jacqueline Wilson as a child. She had influenced a lot of my reading choices, but definitely not Jacqueline Wilson. She was far too mature for that when Jacqueline Wilson was gaining massive popularity. I still see Jacqueline’s books in the classroom and it makes my heart so happy! πŸ˜€

However, she totally influenced The Babysitter’s Club. I have so much nostalgia for this series. ❀

529252Β Β Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)

Another sisterly recommendation was Sweet Valley High. These covers look oh so dated now!

I started the Harry Potter series in my teens. I grew up with it!

To Kill a MockingbirdΒ Lord of the Flies

Both To Kill A Mockingbird and Lord of The Flies were my English Literature reads when I was fifteen. I absolutely adored both of them and have revisited them since. I’m sure I’ll revisit them again in the future.

Which books were your childhood/teen favourites? Do you like/dislike any on my list? Let me know! πŸ™‚ Feel free to leave a link to your posts and I’ll stop by.

67 thoughts on “Top Ten Books From My Childhood (or teen years) that I’d love to revisit!

  1. I loved Matilda! I didn’t read it until the movie came out but man did I adore it. I don’t know if I read a lot of Babysitters Club, but I do distinctly remember one book where Kristy (I think) thought she was adopted. As for Goosebumps…I was a scaredy cat and I couldn’t read those books. Too many nightmares!

  2. I loved Enid blyton when I was younger! Can’t believe I forgot those books – I have a whole shelf of them. Of course I love harry potter too. I never got into goosebumps because I was convinced they would be too horrific for me lol.
    Nice list!

  3. Awesome list! Matilda is my favorite Dahl book and I cannot believe I didn’t think about Goosebumps for this week! Happy reading! πŸ™‚

  4. I could’ve added Roald Dahl and Enid Blyton to my list too. Big yes to this list! I’ve been rereading some Dahl titles lately as my nephew’s recently got interested in his works. Yay! πŸ™‚ And high school lit titles, I didn’t even think of those! Nice.

  5. I’m actually about to start rereading Enid Blyton’s Famous Five series! I really need to pick up one of her other books – I’ve never read her Malory Towers series which I think is probably her most popular, at least among other bloggers.

  6. I just re-read To Kill a Mockingbird this year, and I’m so glad I did. My daughter went through a big Babysitters Club phase, so I ended up reading them too. She made it a lot farther than I did! And my stepson was obsessed with Goosebumps, and used to tell me the plot of whichever one he was reading on the way to school each morning. Great memories!

  7. I never read the Goosebump books. By the time I discovered R.L. Stine, I was Fear Street age. I did read the BSC and Sweet Valley High books though πŸ™‚ And Lord of the Flies is one of those books that I didn’t like reading at the time, but think about quite often and wonder why I was so against it?

    My TTT

  8. I absolutely adore Matilda! I read it as a child, and even a couple times as an adult and I love it just as much, or perhaps more now.

  9. I read a few R.L. Stine as well!! And I loved the Sweet Valley Twins, I always wish to be like them both, haha. I feel like i missed out on Matilda though. I loved the movie growing up, but I never knew it was from a book for the longest time. I definitely would have read it otherwise!!

  10. YES the BSC! Best series ever! (I’m so sad they don’t print copies anymore!) I think I’m one of the only kids who didn’t read Roald Dahl (I did see most of his movie adaptations though…) I also love that cover of To Kill A Mockingbird. I really need to get a copy for my personal collection!

  11. To Kill a Mockingbird is amazing ❀ I’m not sure about the sequel, but the first one is magical! And Lord of the Flies is one I appreciate, but don’t love entirely. I just like the discussions we have in my lit class because of the book πŸ˜€

  12. Ahhh! I forgot about the Goosebumps books! My brother had all of them, and I had a few favourites that I read over and over, because I knew they didn’t scare the pants off of me. The memories are all flooding back! Great list – I toyed with The Babysitter’s Club for my own list!

  13. Yes Matilda is on my list as well! Basically anything by Roald Dahl I read πŸ™‚ I also read To Kill a Mockingbird, but I was so young that I don’t remember anything about it

  14. I LOVE how old the Sweet Valley books look! I mean, they looked dated back when they WEREN’T dated, so…. yeah hahha. I basically lived on a steady diet of BSC books, but I *think* I read Matilda? And I know I read Lord of the Flies in high school, but I likely skimmed it (sorry!). My brother LOVED Goosebumps, they were the only books he’d read! Great list!

  15. Oh my goodness!!! Matilda is my childhood book as well!!! I got my little brother into it and I feel so proud. *tear* I just loved her curiosity and her love of reading. That was probably what attached me the most to her character

  16. I only read Harry Potter out of these – which also made it to my list. But I would like to read Matilda, To Kill a Mocking Bird and Lord of the Flies. Cool list.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

