Comparing ‘I’ll Meet You There’ by Heather Demetrios

I'll Meet You There

Synopsis:

If seventeen-year-old Skylar Evans were a typical Creek View girl, her future would involve a double-wide trailer, a baby on her hip, and the graveyard shift at Taco Bell. But after graduation, the only thing standing between straightedge Skylar and art school are three minimum-wage months of summer. Skylar can taste the freedom—that is, until her mother loses her job and everything starts coming apart. Torn between her dreams and the people she loves, Skylar realizes everything she’s ever worked for is on the line.

Nineteen-year-old Josh Mitchell had a different ticket out of Creek View: the Marines. But after his leg is blown off in Afghanistan, he returns home, a shell of the cocksure boy he used to be. What brings Skylar and Josh together is working at the Paradise—a quirky motel off California’s dusty Highway 99. Despite their differences, their shared isolation turns into an unexpected friendship and soon, something deeper.

Thoughts before you started reading I’ll Meet You There?

CHRISSI: I was really excited to start reading I’ll Meet You There after devouring Something Real. I have to admit, there was a level of apprehension though. ESPECIALLY when it started to get a lot of good buzz around it. I really didn’t want to be let down. So it was with caution but much excitement that I started I’ll Meet You There.

LUNA: Having loved Something Real I was pretty excited about this. To be honest I knew very little before I started reading, Chrissi suggested the new Heather Demetrios and I was like: “SOLD!”

What did you think of Skylar and Josh?

CHRISSI: Oh! Heather Demetrios is an amazing writer. She creates such wonderful characters. I really liked Skylar and Josh, because they weren’t perfect characters. It’s great to read about characters that aren’t shiny and perfect, because let’s face it…who is shiny and perfect?

LUNA: They’re both really developed characters, despite the fact that Skylar has most of the narration you get a really good feeling of who Josh is. I felt that a lot of thought had gone into who they were, how they would grow throughout the book. Sometimes characters read like the one-dimensional words they are made of on the page but Skylar and Josh come across as people.

Best bit?

CHRISSI: I really liked how the romance was slow burning. I also appreciated the raw and grittiness of the story. I couldn’t get enough of this book despite it being fairly long!

LUNA: Like Chrissi it was the slow-burning relationship between Skylar and Josh. It’s a complicated, messy, awkward friendship/romance that you get invested it.

Worst bit?

CHRISSI: I honestly don’t think I could pick a worst bit as such. If I was being really picky I’d say it was a little slow to start, but really… that’s nothing. It didn’t affect my enjoyment, I wasn’t bored. I was just eager to get into the action!

LUNA: There were a few moments, for example in reference to Dylan that I didn’t like. Like when Josh said he wasn’t surprised it was Dylan who had the baby, etc and sometimes the commentators would be called out on it, but then other times Skylar would be making them herself. Like the night she borrows Dylan’s dress and notes that Dylan only has dresses you can easily get out off. It wasn’t just Dylan, except for pure Skylar the girls in this book get a heck of a lot of judgement heaped on them.

Favourite character/moment:
CHRISSI: As with Something Real, I really liked all of the characters. However, I did have a particular fondness for Marge. A side character, but so important in the story.
LUNA: I really liked Marge as well.

Was I’ll Meet You There what you expected?

CHRISSI: I expected an emotional, raw, gritty read and that’s what I got!

LUNA: Overall yes, though I was surprised that I managed to put the book down, with Something Real I barely moved from the sofa.

Would you recommend it?

CHRISSI: Without a doubt!

LUNA: Absolutely

8 thoughts on “Comparing ‘I’ll Meet You There’ by Heather Demetrios

  1. I LOVED this book. I had never read anything else by this author, but I will for sure. I agree about the slow burning relationship part. I LOVE that. It was so much better than the insta love thing some authors use.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

