Beth and Chrissi Do Kid Lit- Diary of A Wimpy Kid

Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, #1)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.

Thoughts:

This book is so popular right now in schools, so when we decided to add some modern Kid Lit to our challenge, I immediately thought of this book. I can understand why it’s so popular with young children. I think it’s relatable to many children and I can imagine that many reluctant readers would enjoy this book which also uses cartoons! It’s an easy to read book which has some wonderfully humorous moments.

Diary of A Wimpy Kid didn’t take me long to read at all. It’s in a short diary entry format, so for more relectuant or slower readers, it’s bite sized and easy to digest. I thought it was chatty and fun to read for young children. Greg writes about his life, family and school.

I didn’t think he was a particularly likeable character, but that could be because this book isn’t aimed at me. I just found him to be a bad friend. I don’t know, perhaps this will improve with the series, but I don’t think it’s a series I will continue to read. I’m glad it’s on my radar to use with young children though.

I know the children that have read this book are lapping up the series and I’m pleased it’s inspiring children to read.

For Beth’s review please check out her blog HERE

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Reading next in the Beth and Chrissi Do Kid Lit Challenge (April):
Flour Babies- Anne Fine

3 thoughts on “Beth and Chrissi Do Kid Lit- Diary of A Wimpy Kid

  1. Pingback: Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit 2015 – MARCH READ – Diary Of A Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney | bibliobeth

  2. I read 4 or 5 of these with my son a few years back when he was younger. I have mixed feelings. Like you say, I agree that anything that gets kids excited about reading is a good thing. Maybe it was me using my adult brain too much, but I actually find the main character so mean-spirited at times that it’s a real turn-off. Still, if my son is willing to actually read (sigh…), I suppose I should be happy!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

