True Face

True Face

How did I get it?:
I received it from Faber and Faber in exchange for a honest review.

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Dear Dylan
Finding Cherokee Brown
Shipwrecked
Girl Online

Synopsis:

We are living in the age of the image – the perfect image. From the constant bombardment of air-brushed photos, to the dubious lifestyle choices promoted by celebrities and the obsession with social media, young women are under pressure as never before to project a persona of perfection. And this is having a catastrophic effect, with girls as young as seven developing eating disorders and female self-loathing reaching epidemic proportions.

True Face shows you how to resist the pressure from the ‘perfection police’ and take off the masks you wear to proudly reveal your true self to the world. In chapters dealing with body image, bullying, social media, love, sex and more, Siobhan Curham encourages young women and girls to be honest, dream big, and create lives that are happy and fulfilling. Keep Calm and Carry On is replaced by a new mantra: Forget the Fake and Keep it Real. This book is a breath of fresh air. Perfect for ages 13+ – and for the Girls fan in her 20s/30s too!

Thoughts:

I absolutely agree that ‘this book is like a breath of fresh air!’ It’s definitely something that I would have loved to have read when I was younger. I found it inspirational to read as an adult. Siobhan has a way with words and her advice on dealing with body image, bullying, social media, love and life is so spot on and turns negative mindset around to encourage readers to think of themselves in a much more positive manner.

I work with children between the ages of 4-11 and I have already experienced many children with self-esteem issues. Sadly many of these children have been female, which just reinforces the pressure young children are under due to our society obsessed with image and perfection.

True Face is full of chapters which are easy to read, informative, inspiring and fun. There’s a hashtag for people to use at the end of the chapters which is often an inspiring little motto. It’s definitely aimed towards teenagers, but I think there’s much older readers can take from it too.

I know I felt much more inspired after True Face. So much so, that I stopped to write a letter to myself, reminding myself of how far I’ve come despite the obstacles that have been in my way. I’ve suffered from quite crippling anxiety over the years and it’s never something I’ve talked too much about. I feel inspired to be more open though so I’ve added my letter here after much consideration (I’ve decided I’m going to listen to my ‘Inner Cheerleader’ more…)

Dear Chrissi,

You should be proud of yourself for all you’ve achieved thus far in your life. Your path to teaching hasn’t been easy.
You didn’t have the best secondary school education even though you got some good friends from it. You did well at college, but didn’t feel strong enough to go to University straight away. So you got a job. You worked hard for those two years and then went to Uni. That was a massive step for you. You achieved a first class degree! After finishing, you didn’t immediately get onto the PGCE so you gave up and accepted a job as a teaching assistant. In January 2014, you finally got accepted onto the PGCE. Another massive step. Now look at you…You’re embarking on your final placement and do you know why I’m proud? Because you’ve battled through anxiety for years and years. It’s prevented you from doing what you’ve wanted to do for so long and you’ve decided to not let it beat you.

You should be proud of yourself for reaching your goals no matter what obstacles were in your way.

Love,
Chrissi’s True Face

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A beautiful, inspirational read! 

2 thoughts on “True Face

  1. Pingback: From Post-it Note to Published Book + Free Gifts | True Face

  2. Pingback: So What if I’m WEIRD? It’s Fricking WONDERFUL! | True Face

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

