Blog Tour: The Lives and Loves of Jesobel Jones

Today I’m reviewing The Lives and Loves of Jesobel Jones by Anna Mainwaring. The Lives and Loves of Jesobel Jones is a Young Adult contemporary which you can buy on Amazon HERE in e-book and paperback format!

Jesobel Jones Cover

How did I get it?:
Received from author for the blog tour in exchange for an honest review!

Synopsis:

Jesobel Jones can bake. In a truly triumphant, appearing-on-TV kind of way. But this means nothing to the rest of the world, because apparently all that cake mix is starting to show – in all the wrong places. So when she lands an invite to the Party of Year by the Boy of Her Dreams, she wonders whether it’s time for a new, improved Jess. But will life still taste as good?

Thoughts:

I was asked to consider joining the blog tour for this debut novel from Anna Mainwaring. As soon as I read the synopsis for The Lives and Loves of Jesobel Jones, I knew it would be the kind of book that I would enjoy reading. It’s a cute, young adult contemporary which doesn’t take long to read at all. It does veer towards the younger side of Young Adult, but I thought it was enjoyable nonetheless.

It centres around Jesobel Jones who is slightly curvier than is expected by the girls at her school. After some unfortunate incidents including a video on YouTube, Jess is surprised to be noticed by a boy she’s had her eye on for some time. She knows she’s not like Cat, her skinnier, prettier sister. Jess feels pressure to get The Boy of Her Dreams so starts to try to improve herself. However, she finds herself becoming incredibly happy and not truly who she is.

A strong point of this book is that it really does reflect teenage life. It’s up to date and modern, something that teenagers will certainly relate to. I certainly could relate to the character, despite it being a while since my teenage years! I found it funny at points and very easy to read. It is a very British story, which I always appreciate! If you’re looking for a quick, light, easy to read book then this is the book for you!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

A light, easy to read book, well worth exploring if you like your YA contemporaries!Β 

7 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Lives and Loves of Jesobel Jones

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

