Top Ten Inspiring Quotes From Books

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list are our Top Ten Inspiring Quotes From Books. These can be quotes that make us think, inspire us etc. I have many of these, but I’ve narrowed it down to ten of my favourites, all from some amazing books. Some really make me stop and think and I love having that connection with an author’s writing!

“Sometimes in life, we need a few bad days in order to keep the good ones in perspective.” – Colleen Hoover, Maybe Someday

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…” – Dr Seuss, Oh The Places You Will Go.

“The hardest choices in life aren’t between what’s right and what’s wrong but between what’s right and what’s best.” -Jamie Ford, Hotel On The Corner of Bitter and Sweet

“And here in this room, I re-experience the memories again and again it is how wisdom comes and how we shape our future.” Lois Lowry, The Giver

“We accept the love we think we deserve.” Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being A Wallflower

“It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.”J.K Rowling- Harry Potter

“Love is like the wind, you can’t see it but you can feel it.” Nicholas Sparks- A Walk To Remember

“Sometimes people are beautiful. Not in looks. Not in what they say. Just in what they are.” Markus Zusak, I Am The Messenger

“You don’t love someone because they’re perfect, you love them in spite of the fact that they’re not.” Jodi Picoult, My Sister’s Keeper

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.” Harper Lee, To Kill A Mockingbird

What are your favourite inspirational quotes from books? Feel free to leave a link to your post and I’ll stop by!

71 thoughts on “Top Ten Inspiring Quotes From Books

  1. I loved Hotel on the Corner and I’ll bet that quote is one of the reasons why (I wish I remembered lines from books better). Such a good one! Thanks for sharing!

  2. I really love your list!!! Can’t go wrong with Dr. Seuss or To Kill a Mockingbird. Love the Maybe Someday quote ( which is my favorite Colleen book). Also the quote from The Perks of Being a Wallflower is so true. I really need to read that book because there seems to be a quote on there on so many lists.

  3. Ooh so many good quotes! I really love the I Am Messenger one – all these quotes lists are making me want to pick up more books. I shouldn’t be surprised by this, but I really thought I’d make it through these lists without that urge haha!

  4. Such a great collection of quotes! I should have included that one from To Kill a Mockingbird!!! (my list could easily been 20 long instead of 10). And the Harry Potter one. And the Giver one. This is a new one to me, might need to read this book: “The hardest choices in life aren’t between what’s right and what’s wrong but between what’s right and what’s best.” -Jamie Ford, Hotel On The Corner of Bitter and Sweet

    Here’s my TTT

  5. I haven’t read Maybe Someday, but I really like that quote. It is good to keep that one in mind, especially on a bad day. And the Jamie Ford quote–so true! I love the To Kill A Mockingbird quote you shared.

    I’m so terrible with remembering quotes. I rarely jot them down, much less remember them. I was lucky to find the ones I did for this exercise. LOL

    • It’s a beautiful quote. There are quite a few lovely quotes in Maybe Someday. I love the Jamie Ford quote. It has always stayed with me.

      I have to admit, I’m pretty bad at remembering quotes as well! 😀

  6. The Harry Potter quote is definitely one that’s made many people’s lists :D. I haven’t read To Kill A Mockingbird (my dad loves the movie!) but I really like the quote you picked because it’s so relevant to what’s going on in the world today. Great list Chrissi 🙂

  7. Oh, I adore Oh the Places You’ll Go! My high school swim coach gave me a copy for graduation with a lovely message written in it, and I still tear up thinking about that book. I really like the I Am Messenger one too, and the Colleen Hoover one is just SO accurate. Fantastic list 🙂

  8. These are great quotes. I can’t believe I left out “We accept the love we think we deserve.” I love the Markus Zusak quote. Good choices!

    Michelle @ Michelle’s Minions

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

