Stolen

Stolen

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Flyaway

Synopsis:

IT HAPPENED LIKE THIS.
I was stolen from an airport. Kidnapped. Taken from everything I knew, everything I was used to. Imprisoned by sand and heat, dirt and danger. And he expected me to love him.
This is my story. A letter to my captor.

Thoughts:

Stolen tells the story of Gemma, who is taken from an airport far away to Australia. A controversial story, that’s for sure. I have really mixed feelings about this book. I enjoyed reading it (despite the tough subject matter) but at the same time, I was expecting to be blown away…and I wasn’t. Don’t get me wrong, I would totally recommend this book, I just think I had too high expectations going into it. This book is unique and interesting to read with a very intriguing view of Stockholm Syndrome.

I really enjoyed reading Gemma’s story. The story was told through Gemma addressing her kidnapper in a letter. I think this was a really effective way to portray how Gemma was feeling and how her feelings changed with time.The use of this narrative works because it feels much more intimate. The reader feels like they get to know her and live through her terrible experience with her.

Ty, the kidnapper, is an interesting character. He’s one that utterly confused me. I wasn’t sure what to make of him. Obviously, it’s completely wrong what he did and the fact he didn’t seem to realise what he did was wrong really frustrated me. My mixed feelings come from feeling somewhat sorry for him. He clearly needed help. It may have been interesting to learn about the kidnapping from Ty’s point of view. It’s not often that I long for alternate points of view (I don’t think it always works) but I’m certainly intrigued to Ty’s reasons behind the kidnapping.

This book made me think. It may not have been as amazing as I wanted it to be, but it was still a decent reading experience!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

A unique take on Stockholm Syndrome. Worth reading!

9 thoughts on “Stolen

  1. The subject matter of this book is intriguing. It is the first time I’ve heard about it though! I don’t know how I missed on that. Apparently I miss on everything! :/
    Would you recommend it as an anytime read, or I really have to be in the mood for it and might ruin it for me if it’s not the perfect time.
    Also, is it short or like fast paced, because I really am in no position to read Big or Slow Books, no matter how interested I may be. I barely have half an hour each day to devote to any leisure reading. But I also want to keep up with my reading challenge. So I would really appreciate if you could recommend any short book that I might fly through! 🙂

    • It is a really intriguing book. Quite unique. I haven’t read a story like it before. There are far too many books to keep tracks on all of them, so don’t worry! That’s why book blogs are so good, you read about so many books that you didn’t know about before. It can be a bit dangerous though for your to be read pile!

      I think you would have to be in the mood to read it. In the mood for a book that’s a little unusual. It’s just over 300 pages long, so it’s not a ‘big’ book. People have been mixd about whether it’s a fast paced read. I personally found it intriguing enough, to keep turning the pages but everyone is different. 🙂

  2. Great review! What I found fascinating about this book is that it sucks the reader into a version of Stockholm Syndrome too — by the end, I had to keep reminding myself that Ty didn’t deserve sympathy! I thought it was really powerful, overall, and loved the setting.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

