Only Ever Yours

21805717

How did I get it?:
My sister bought it for me!

Synopsis:

In a world in which baby girls are no longer born naturally, women are bred in schools, trained in the arts of pleasing men until they are ready for the outside world. At graduation, the most highly rated girls become “companions”, permitted to live with their husbands and breed sons until they are no longer useful.

For the girls left behind, the future – as a concubine or a teacher – is grim.

Best friends Freida and Isabel are sure they’ll be chosen as companions – they are among the most highly rated girls in their year.

But as the intensity of final year takes hold, Isabel does the unthinkable and starts to put on weight. ..
And then, into this sealed female environment, the boys arrive, eager to choose a bride.

Freida must fight for her future – even if it means betraying the only friend, the only love, she has ever known. . .

Thoughts:

I can’t even think where to begin with the review of this book. It’s insane, it’s creepy, it’s a page turner… it’s wonderful! I got torn about whether to rate this book four or five stars so I’ve gone for the in-between!

The problem with this book is that I really, really disliked the world, but at the same time I was completely engrossed and somewhat disgusted by the world and that’s what makes the book so damn interesting. Seriously, Louise O’Neill is an incredible writer.

Only Ever Yours is based in a future word where females are treated awfully. They’re only on the world to ‘please’ men. These girls are bred in a school and taught how to be beautiful. They have goal weights and basically have to be flawless at all times. It was tough to read because how self obsessed the girls are in this book. They really are. Their only concern is how beautiful they are and how slim they are and we all know that’s not a healthy place to be at. It really made me think about societies perception of beauty though. It’s scary how we do live in a society that (ok, not as extreme as this world) does place an emphasis on beauty, especially to young girls who may be impressionable. This book has to be handled with care because it does deal with eating disorders and shows girls wanting to be slim at all costs. The taunts the girls endure really messed with my head.

The writing is addicitive. I could not put this book down. Everytime I tried to, I was picking it up again not ten minutes later. It isn’t an easy book to read though. I know I felt incredibly uncomfortable throughout but at the same time it was fascinating. I needed to know how it was going to turn out for the characters. It was raw. It was brutal, but my God was it well written!!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course! 4.5 stars

This book may offend some readers, but I seriously think it’s worth considering, I found it fascinating. So well written!

14 thoughts on “Only Ever Yours

  1. Yay! First to Like and Comment 🙂
    This is the kind of book I’ve wanted to read for long. Thanks for the review. I am reading it next ASAP!
    I couldn’t help but notice the similarities our world has with the one in the book. I want to see how scary it goes!

  2. I remember when I first saw this cover, I KNEW I wanted to read it lol. It looks so freaking creepy to me, and I just love how it ties into the story so well. Your review has me sold on picking this up! I’m adding it to my TBR now as we speak 🙂 Nice meeting you Chrissi, you’ll see me stalking your posts alot frequently lol.

    • Nice to meet you too! It’s always lovely to meet like minded bookish friends! 🙂 I’m so pleased that my review made you want to read this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I hope you do too. Please let me know what you think of it!

  3. I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this book!!! I do feel weird about giving it a five star rating because I disliked the world so much. But the writing was so amazing and the plot kept me turning the page. It was awesome.

  4. This sounds a lot like The Handmaid’s Tale in ways. I love the cover bc HELLO Barbie!! But then I read what it was about and I was surprised. Sounds really intense and a little sickening. But interesting. I’ve never heard of it, so thanks for introducing me 🙂

  5. Pingback: This Week in Books 29.04.2015 | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

