A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student: Exhausted…but happy!

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my massive new venture. I am going to University to train to be a primary school teacher. I will be trained to work with 5-11 year olds. It’s known to be a very, very stressful time so I’m hoping I can channel my thoughts and feelings into a blog post. It gives you an insight into what’s going on in my life and hopefully it’ll be incredibly therapeutic for me. I will NOT be naming any children, schools or teaching staff. I won’t even mention what University I’m at. I hope that’s understandable. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind!

This week I went back to school to start the last school placement I have before I’m a qualified teacher. I spent the two previous weeks prior to the school holidays learning about the school, but now I’m right in there and I’ve taught just over 50% of the week this week. It was supposed to be 50% but with some staff sickness I covered for another teacher.

I had a terrible time with my confidence prior to the Easter break, but I’m very happy to say that I feel like I’m back in my stride and have absolutely loved this week despite being absolutely exhausted!

I’ve taught numerous English and Maths lessons and Science and Geography too. I feel like the children are seeing me as a teacher. They’ve been responsive, engaged, lovely, excited with just a hint of naughtiness from a few!

This week has reminded me of why I want to be a teacher. I’m not saying that every week will be as successful, but right now I’m very, very happy. I’ve had good feedback and I’m excited about the weeks to come! Next week, I go on my first school trip with this class!

6 thoughts on “A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student: Exhausted…but happy!

  1. It’s great so see you feeling a bit more confident in yourself and your ability! It’s no fun when you lose confidence and get overwhelmed so it’s good to see you back on track and enjoying it! Good luck!

  2. Wow! You’re a teacher.. That’s really cool.
    Working with young people and teaching them is just so awesome, but it can also be stressful.
    I am glad you’re gaining your confidence and that your students are responding well enough to boost your confidence level.
    I love these kind of posts so much…
    Keep Them Coming!
    I know you’ll do great

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

