Beth and Chrissi Do Kid Lit: Flour Babies

Flour Babies

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

Let it be flour babies. Let chaos reign. When the annual school science fair comes round, Mr Cartwright’s class don’t get to work on the Soap Factory, the Maggot Farm or the Exploding Custard Tins. To their intense disgust they get the Flour Babies – sweet little six-pound bags of flour that must be cared for at all times.

Thoughts:

I vividly remember loving this book when I was younger. I was so happy when it was picked for our challenge, as I absolutely have fond memories of it. Whilst I still enjoyed it and thought it was a sweet read, I didn’t love it as much as I remembered. Ah. Adulthood!

Flour Babies is about Simon Martin and his friends in 4C. They have a project of taking on the responsibility of a small sack of flour as part of a ‘Child Development’ project. The Flour Baby comes with many different rules and regulations! The aim of the project is to get the students to think about responsibility and parenthood. Our main protagonist Simon finds himself beginning to really care for his Flour Baby despite his initial reservations. Simon unexpectedly finds himself coming to terms with his own absent father.

The absent father element is something that I didn’t recall from my childhood readings of Flour Babies. Perhaps because my father was absent (due to being in the army) so much, I didn’t really see it as anything unusual. I really liked how Anne Fine didn’t shy away from the absent father in the story. So many children can relate to this!

The language in Flour Babies is a little dated for our modern day children, but I do think children would still get something out of this book.

Being from the education sector myself, I identified a lot with the school environment in which this book is set. Scarily enough, some of the teacher’s conversations about their students are accurate as to how some teachers (not me!) speak about their pupils!

For Beth’s review please check her blog out HERE

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! 3.5 stars

Reading next for the Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit Challenge (May):
The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe- C.S Lewis

4 thoughts on “Beth and Chrissi Do Kid Lit: Flour Babies

  1. Pingback: Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit 2015 – APRIL READ – Flour Babies by Anne Fine | bibliobeth

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

