Ten Books I’ll Probably Never Read

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list are the Top Ten books I’ll probably never read. I dislike doing lists like this because I hate to mention books I won’t read, but I do have my reasons and I’m always open to persuasion if I mention one of your favourites…

Book images go to Goodreads!

Game of Thrones- George R.R Martin

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)

Don’t hurt me! I just have no desire to read this book at all. It’s such a commitment and I’m not sure it’s my sort of thing anyway.

Lord Of The Rings- J.R.R Tolkien

The Lord of the Rings (The Lord of the Rings, #1-3)

Eek! I’m sorry. It’s just not my sort of thing at all.

War and Peace- Leo Tolstoy

War and Peace

You might be sensing a theme here. Long, epic reads like this aren’t really my sort of thing. I feel like I’d slog my way through it and not enjoy it. Despite it being a classic that I really should try.

Anna Karenina- Leo Tolstoy

Anna Karenina

Anna Karenina is a book that I have went to read so many times. I think I need to face up to the fact that I’m never gonna read it.

Moby Dick- Herman Melville

Moby-Dick; or, The Whale

Moby Dick is another book that I think I should read as a book lover, I just don’t think I will… too many other books to enjoy!

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo- Stieg Larsson

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, #1)

I don’t know why, but I’ve never felt compelled to read this trilogy. I’ve heard good things, but it just doesn’t appeal!

Beautiful Disaster- Jamie McGuire

Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, #1)

This is one of those books that mixed reviews have been putting me off reading this book. It’s strange, as usually I like to give a book a try, but something makes me uncomfortable about it. Please tell me if I’m wrong. As I said, I’m open to being persuaded otherwise…

Fallen- Lauren Kate

Fallen (Fallen, #1)

Fallen has a gorgeous cover, but again- mixed reviews. I just don’t see myself reading it.

Hush, Hush- Becca Fitzpatrick

Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush, #1)

Much like Fallen, I’m pretty ‘meh’ about this book. I’m not inspired to read it.

The Maze Runner- James Dashner

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, #1)

My reason for not picking up The Maze Runner is that I’ve heard the series isn’t as good as the first book. I always feel compelled to finish series (even though I don’t always) I’m just not sure I have time to start a series that I won’t invest in.

Do you want to convince me otherwise? Please feel free to leave your honest opinion. I can be persuaded otherwise! 😉 Please leave a link to your posts too and I shall stop by!

98 thoughts on “Ten Books I’ll Probably Never Read

  1. I absolutely loved War and Peace, and only took 19 days to plow through it. It’s such a page-turner, with so many characters who come alive and inspire strong emotions, both positive and negative. I really feel I didn’t put aside enough time on certain days to read it before, and think I could make it in 14 days on a reread. I don’t recall how long Anna Karenina took, but it was at least a few weeks, and I had a rather archaic translation which even used that outdated, Anglocentric convention of “translating” proper names. English nicknames like Kitty, Dolly, and Betsy are actually written that way throughout the Russian original, but you can’t use that excuse for all the other characters!

    I tried Moby Dick a few times when I was younger, but haven’t attempted it since third grade. 19th century U.S. and British literature tends to be very difficult for me, with notable exceptions like Mark Twain.

    • 19 days is really impressive! I wish I had the concentration to stick with War and Peace, but I just don’t think I do. It’s a shame. I would love to say I have read it! My sister has read Anna Karenina which she enjoyed, I think I probably would too. My trouble is that I have such limited time to read at the moment what with being busy on my post grad. Maybe someday!

  2. I know what you mean about epic reads. I generally like them but actually have less patience for them these days then I did when I was a teenager. Less time to read means I have to be choosy!

  3. You’ve got a great list here! I agree that reading Game of Thrones is a commitment. It’s almost 1,000 pages per book haha I’ve only read up to the 2nd book but I think I’ll do it (hopefully). I love the show, though. I haven’t read Lord of the Rings and from friends who have the same interests as I do, they didn’t like the writing style. So I probably won’t be reading it anytime soon. However, I loved the films.

    I’ve been wanting to read Ana Karenina, too. Also haven’t gotten to it. I heard that The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was very violent/graphic so I’ve been putting it off. I might just sell my copies. I agree, don’t read Fallen haha. I read it and it was boring. I liked Hush, Hush. It’s not a favorite but it was pretty interesting. The Maze Runner didn’t end so well for me. The first book was definitely the best. So I see why it would be on your list. Here’s my TTT.

    • Wow. That’s impressive. Well done to you for plodding on with it. I’m glad you’re enjoying it enough to continue reading it. My sister has read and loved Lord of The Rings, but she knows my reading tastes and knows I won’t enjoy it. Same with the Dragon Tattoo. She said it would be much too violent for me!

  4. The more I hear about the great literary value of Moby Dick, the more I’m inclined to pick it up, though I really don’t see it rising above others to the top of the TBR any time soon.

    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo probably has one of the best crime plots I’ve read, and I’d be delighted to read it over the other books on your list any day 😛 though I can see why it doesn’t appeal.

  5. I feel the same way about the Maze Runner! I had heard the series goes downhill fast, so I didn’t read it before I saw the movie. I liked the movie, so I have no desire to go back and read the book. Oh well!

    Thanks for stoppin’ by! have a great week!

  6. I’ve started Anna Karenina and enjoyed it but couldn’t read more than a couple of pages or so at a time as it’s soo detailed and I’d lose concentration. I’d like to finish it but doubt I will, which is pity as I am more than halfway through…

    The Stieg Larsson trilogy is definitely worth reading!

    • Ooh, you’re so close! But I can see why you wouldn’t want to carry on. Sometimes it’s tough to read books which require so much concentration. I hope you do get to finish it one day. I’m glad that you like the Stieg Larsson trilogy so much!

  7. I am really in love with the Game of throne book series , as I am sure you will be when you ever try it , the maze runner books were also interesting because although it’s a young adult series romance kinda took a backseat and made it more of a bromance which I absolutely loved . I’m currently struggling through classics so Moby Dick is also on my list . The girl with the dragon tattoo never pulled my interest so I’ve given up on ever reading it. Great list 😄.

    My TTT : https://lifewithcassandra.wordpress.com/2015/05/05/top-ten-tuesday-books-ill-probably-never-read/

  8. I LOVED the Maze Runner Series, but yes would have to say that the 2nd and 3rd books aren’t up their with the 1st.
    I have had both Lord of the Rings and (the entire series, so far) of Game of Thrones that are still untouched on my shelves. But I am determined to read them!
    There were a lot of books that I put on my list this week just because they have been on my TBR forever and I keep saying that I will read them and I never have, I guess it’s time to face the truth!
    The girl with the Dragon Tattoo made my list too, but just because I’m not smart enough for all the big words in it!
    Happy Reading (or not reading in this weeks case!)

    • I’m definitely not smart enough for some of the books on this list. Sometimes I just want to read lighter reads! See that’s completely the reason why I don’t want to pick up The Maze Runner. I just don’t want to commit to a series that isn’t as good as the first!

  9. These are all pretty well known books. I totally get not wanting Game of Thrones or Lord of the Rings. Yes, people love it to the point of addiction, but if it’s not your thing it’s not your thing.

  10. I agree with you on the game of thrones series, I tried to read the first one, got about three quarters the way through and didn’t pick it about for 3 years, so I recently gave the book to someone who wanted to read it. I got bored, and there was one character I really hated.
    I have read the first LOTR but not the rest, I do plan to read them all eventually but they are a bog commitment, maybe take them on holiday or something. Nice post.

  11. Please reconsider The Lord of the Rings and Anna Karenina. They deserve the time of day. I agree on War and Peace though 😀

  12. I agree with quite a few of these, but LoTR and GoT are big favourites of mine so I’m always going to recommend giving them another go 🙂 It’s interesting seeing what books crop up on lists repeatedly today, and there’s seems to be a general idea that long books =bad/not worth investing in which is sad 😦
    My TTT

  13. I haven’t read the Maze Runner series, but I’m tempted. I saw the movie and would like to see if the book is better.

    As for LoTR, I’m not a huge fan either, but I read them all. I won’t, however, read the Simulirian. I’ve had enough Middle Earth. 🙂

  14. I really liked The Maze Runner so I’d suggest picking that one up. I’m currently reading Game of Thrones and it’s really good but it is a huge commitment. I’m agreeing with you on the others though!
    Check out mine!

  15. I’ve read a few of the books on your list and there are also a few I’d avoid! I’m not into the classics so all that War and Peace can continue without me! The Dragon Tattoo, Fallen and Hush Hush I started but hated and DNF. My dad used to read me LOTR as bedtime stories and I enjoyed it but I don’t really like the fantasy genre which has me wary about Game of Thrones. The Maze Runner I was disappointed in. Nice list!

  16. I really liked Beautiful Disaster, and LOVED the LOTR series and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo…. As for Game of Thrones, I WANT to read it…. It’s just such a commitment.

  17. Great list, Chrissi! I’m never going to pick up any Tolstoy either – his work has just never interested me – and A Song of Ice and Fire is such a huge commitment. I recently started listening to one of the audiobooks, which has been pretty good so far, and I’ve gotten farther listening to it than I ever did reading it. 🙂

  18. I agree with pretty much your whole list (besides LOTR; love me some Tolkien, though I understand why he not some peoples’ favorite)! Some of them are mine as well. Here’s my TTT.

  19. I gave up on Anna Karenina after 20% or so when the author started going down a religious tangent. And then I watched the movie and confirmed that nope, not for me. I liked Girl With a Dragon Tattoo, but it is very corporate world intrigue mixed with old family intrigue. It is an odd blend, but then you watch the Swedish movies and it is amazing (and graphic).

  20. I have War and Peace is on my list as well, just can’t push myself given how long it is. Ahh wish I had recalled Moby Dick, it would have made my list. I struggled over GOT but I still think I will return to it sometime. Great list!

  21. Some of these titles just have so much ‘hype’ or talk around them. I can see why you would want to put off reading them! Much like their tv adaptations or movie adaptations – I’ve avoided watching them because of all the talk!

    Thanks for sharing!

  22. Oh yes to so many of these! I have zero interest in reading Game of Thrones or Lord of the Rings. I started reading the girl with the dragon tattoo and just found it boring. But I watched the movie and loved it.

  23. I agree with a lot of your list. Esp Fallen and Maze Runner – I’ve read both of them and they weren’t very good at all,so I wouldn’t worry!

  24. I have seen Moby Dick, Anna Karenia, The Girl with a Dragon tattoo on several lists. I also included the Maze Runner and Game of Thrones. I’ve heard very mix things about hush hush that I’m not sure I’d ever read them.

    Tina, The Bookworm

  25. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, *cries* It’s a really good book! I admit that it took me a bit to get into it but once it got good I just couldn’t put it down. I agree with you on Game of Thrones, I see the books in bookstores and I just don’t feel the pull, you know?

  26. I hated The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo — the other two books in the series are on my list this week! We often have overlapping book taste, but I do love both LOTR and GoT (huge fantasy worlds appeal to me, I suppose!). I’ll never read War and Peace or Moby Dick either, although I did read Anna Karenina way back when. Oh, and I read Fallen, and think it’s totally skippable!

  27. Yessss! Very good list! I do not want to read any of these either! Except The Maze Runner, which I did, and was “meh”, and the first in The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo which was SO BORING I wanted to rip my arm off and beat myself with it. I approve of these choices 🙂

    • Ha! Thanks Shannon. I just know that these books aren’t for me. My reading time is so limited at the moment that I prefer to read what I know I’m going to love.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

