A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student… My First High.

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my massive new venture. I am going to University to train to be a primary school teacher. I will be trained to work with 5-11 year olds. It’s known to be a very, very stressful time so I’m hoping I can channel my thoughts and feelings into a blog post. It gives you an insight into what’s going on in my life and hopefully it’ll be incredibly therapeutic for me. I will NOT be naming any children, schools or teaching staff. I won’t even mention what University I’m at. I hope that’s understandable. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind!

Wow. I know I’ve said it before about how up and down this experience has been, but I’ve been on an upwards climb this week. I have taught subjects I hadn’t taught previously and had successful lessons! I received my first high grading from my tutor from University this week.

During the course of a PGCE student’s placement, they have to be formally observed by their teacher mentor once a week. Someone from the university comes in every so often to observe too, just to check that everything is going okay and for some moral support really. On your observation you are graded either fail, minimum (requires improvement), good or high. This week my tutor from university graded my English lesson as HIGH!  It was the first time I had got such a good grading (I’ve always been graded good). I couldn’t believe it. I think I’m still shocked now as I really didn’t believe that my lesson was so good. I know I’m harsh on myself, but I had a feeling that it wasn’t as good as it could’ve been.

I’m still fighting a virus, but I’m pleased with how well this week has gone. I’m incredibly tired, but ready to take on a new week. I mentioned that I’m worried I have to maintain that high now, but we’ll see how this week goes. I’m personally not convinced, that I’m a high level teacher!

7 thoughts on “A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student… My First High.

  1. I think it is your lack of confidence in your own ability that is getting you so tense that you are making mistakes you wouldn’t normally make. You have to trust that the tutors marking you know what they are doing! My suggestion? Sit and look at all the lessons where you received good and bad marks-compare them and try to spot what was different about the higher marked ones. It will help you work out how to keep your marks up and that will give you more confidence. Good luck!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

