Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles #3.5)

Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles, #3.5)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Cinder
Scarlet
Cress

Synopsis:

In this stunning bridge book between Cress and Winter in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles, Queen Levana’s story is finally told.

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.

Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series.

Thoughts:

I wasn’t sure what I was going to make of Fairest. I’m not the biggest fan of novellas, but I was easily won over with Fairest. I thought it was a great story to bridge the gap between Cress and Winter. I absolutely adored this story. I was torn between giving it four and five stars, but I’ve gone for five because, in my eyes, there was nothing wrong with it at all.

I seriously believe that The Lunar Chronicles is getting better with every single book. I loved learning more about Levana, who had popped up in the previous books. I had really mixed feelings about Levana. On the one hand I really disliked her and on the other hand I felt really sorry for her. You’ll have to read it to see why! I was easily engrossed in this story, and really didn’t want it to end… but Winter is coming… soon (ish!)

The romance in this book is creepy, the way Levana manipulates is scary but wonderful at the same time! Even though this book is a novella, I think it really helps to learn more about Levana and somewhat understand the reason why she is how she is, even if you don’t agree with her actions. Levana is an amazing villain. I loved this book!

Would I recommend it?:
Without a doubt!

This book gave me mixed feelings about Levana! So worth reading if you love The Lunar Chronicles!

12 thoughts on “Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles #3.5)

  1. This is the first novella that I really was into. It felt like a full-length book to me and I didn’t want it to end!! I wanted more about life on Luna. I’m glad you liked it as much as I did. And I totally agree, knowing about Levana’s history is important to the story and just makes her that much of a more intense villain.

  2. I just finished Cress today. I agree with you that the series just keeps getting better and better with each book. I will be reading Fairest. I can’t wait until the conclusion comes out in November!

  3. You know, I actually sympathized with Levana a lot LESS than I was expecting you. You are so right about the creepy romance. That stressed me out so much. But I think Fairest is a wonderful book, and a great addition to this series. I cannot wait for Winter!

    • The romance was so creepy! I hated the way she manipulated him, but at the same time it was great to read. It’s interesting to read that you sympathised with her less! 😀 I can’t wait to read Winter! So excited for it.

  4. I was worried that having a book that described Levanna while she was still a threat would make her less threatening, but you make it sound like it was a good in-between. I NEVER read .5’s but this one is DEFINITELY going to be an exception!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

