A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student: A very full teaching week!

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my massive new venture. I am going to University to train to be a primary school teacher. I will be trained to work with 5-11 year olds. It’s known to be a very, very stressful time so I’m hoping I can channel my thoughts and feelings into a blog post. It gives you an insight into what’s going on in my life and hopefully it’ll be incredibly therapeutic for me. I will NOT be naming any children, schools or teaching staff. I won’t even mention what University I’m at. I hope that’s understandable. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind!

I am so ready for a week’s break and I still have a week left! This week I’ve taught a lot more than I’m supposed to have done, as my teacher tutor was away so I took over her class for practically the whole week, bar one afternoon! Lots of people were telling me it was too much, but to be honest I feel like it was really good for me. It certainly gave me an insight into how teaching really is. I definitely feel like the children are seeing me as their teacher. Their behaviour has improved so much since the beginning of the plaement. Or rather… I’m dealing with it much better!

I feel like I’m learning how to deal with parent’s concerns more effectively too. Interacting with parents was one of my biggest concerns. I think this is down to my own anxieties though as the majority of parents are absolutely wonderful!

Tomorrow brings another challenge for me which I shall speak about next week! I don’t want to say too much yet. I do need massive positive vibes though for a challenging week ahead.

I can’t believe that I only have about 6-7 weeks left until I’m a qualified teacher. That’s EXCITING but TERRIFYING at the same time. I can certainly see that finishing line approaching and I can’t wait to cross it.

2 thoughts on “A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student: A very full teaching week!

  1. Building your relationship with kids is a very natural way to manage behaviour (as is good teaching – if they are engaged then far less likely to play up!). Parents are a really tricky challenge. They (we!) have every right to advocate for our small person who may not be able to do so for themselves, but how this is done is critical. Most parents want to build a partnership. Those who don’t you need to call in help for and keep a careful record of your interactions. A lot can be diffused in a face to face rather than email.
    Good luck 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

