Blog Tour: Bad Bones by Graham Marks

Bad Bones (Red Eye)

Click on the book image to get to the Goodreads page! (Opens in new tab!)

How did I get it?:
Sent to me through the publisher for the blog tour. This does not affect my opinion of the book. I always give an honest opinion!

Synopsis:

Some things are best left buried. Gabe is feeling the pressure. His family has money troubles, he’s hardly talking to his dad, plus lowlife Benny is on his case. Needing some space to think, he heads off into the hills surrounding LA. And he suddenly stumbles across a secret that will change everything. A shallow grave. Gabe doesn’t think twice about taking the gold bracelet he finds buried there. Even from the clutches of skeletal hands. But he has no idea what he’s awakening…A chilling new story in the Red Eye series.

Thoughts:

I have read several of the books in Stripes Red Eye series which is bringing horror to the Young Adult genre. I’ve had a mixed experience with these books, but I decided to check out Bad Bones. The synopsis immediately grabbed me. Whilst Bad Bones wasn’t my favourite book in the series (I found it to be too slow paced), I still enjoyed reading it and I’m glad that I checked it out.

Bad Bones centres around Gabe, who finds something in the desert one day. He doesn’t expect it to change his life, but it does. Gabe’s discovery means he has to face good versus evil. Gabe is an interesting character. I think he will be a character that divides readers though. He’s not a character that I found easy to connect with. There are some great characters in the story that fit in well to the adventurous plot line.

I was really impressed with the story to begin with. It was very engaging and pulled me in, but it didn’t maintain that level of action throughout and the plot seemed to slow right down. I still think many readers will enjoy this book, just be prepared for a slower paced read than you’d might expect!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! To some.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

