Top Ten Freebie: Top Ten British Writers

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list is a Top Ten Freebie, so we get the chance to make up our own topic. In celebration of all things British, I’m going to list my Top Ten British Writers. This list constantly changes but these authors always seem to crop up at one point or another!

Click on the book title to get to the Goodreads page!

In no particular order:

James Dawson

james dawson

Hollow Pike, Cruel Summer, Say Her Name and Under My Skin are James Dawson’s fiction books, all of which are fabulous. For an LGBT non fiction read, I highly recommend This Book is Gay.

Emma Carroll

emma carroll

Emma Carroll is a brilliant writer. I loved Frost Hollow Hall and The Girl Who Walked On Air.

Alison Rattle

alisonrattle1

I have given The Quietness, The Madness and The Beloved 5 stars. I have loved every YA book Alison has come out with. I highly recommend her work if you’re into historical YA!

Cat Clarke

catclarke1

Undone and A Kiss In The Dark are my two favourite Cat Clarke books. They both deal with serious issues in a sensitive and very readable manner.

Non Pratt

18138917

Non Pratt’s debut novel Trouble was one of my favourite books last year! I am looking forward to reading her next book, Remix soon!

Jojo Moyes

jojomoyes

It’ll be no surprise for regular readers of my blog to see Jojo Moyes on my blog. I absolutely adore Me Before You and also enjoyed The Girl You Left Behind and The One Plus One too.

Alexia Casale

The Bone Dragon

I loved the unique The Bone Dragon by Alexia and I am very much looking forward to reading her next book, House of Windows. 

Siobhan Curham

siobhancurham1

I absolutely loved Shipwrecked (note to self… need to continue with the next book!). True Face is an inspirational non fiction book!

Dorothy Koomson

dorothykoo

It’s hard to pick my favourite Dorothy Koomson book, but I adore My Best Friend’s Girl, The Ice Cream Girls, The Flavours of Love and The Rose Petal Beach.

Patrick Ness

patrick

I know that Patrick Ness was born in the U.S but he’s an honoury Brit! I loved The Knife of Never Letting Go (…Manchee!) and A Monsters Calls.

What have you picked for your Top Ten Freebie? Feel free to leave a link to your post and I’ll stop by!

74 thoughts on “Top Ten Freebie: Top Ten British Writers

  1. I don’t believe I’ve ever heard of any of these folks, unfortunately. Most of the British writers I’m familiar with are from the 19th and 20th centuries. As a historical lover, I’ll have to check out Alison Rattle.

    My TTT

  2. I definitely need to check out some of these authors. I can’t believe I haven’t read any Jojo Moyes! What’s wrong with me? Great list and great topic choice!

    Michelle @ Michelle’s Minions

    My TTT

  3. I love Dorothy Koomson but it has been awhile since I read one of her books. I really wanna check out Trouble, I think I would really enjoy it! I just borrowed Me Before You from the library and I was reconsidering reading it but after seeing this, I am more motivated to pick it up! Haha thank you!

    Thanks for dropping by Bursting Books !

  4. Yes, Patrick Ness! I love him. But I really hated Trouble! I haven’t read any of the others unfortunately, so I definitely have to check them out. Thanks for visiting Addlepates and Book Nerds! 🙂

  5. Great topic! I’m a fan of Patrick Ness, Jojo Moyes, and Cat Clarke and have been meaning to read Non Pratt’s Trouble. Thanks for introducing me to some new authors!

  6. I’m afraid I don’t know any of the British writers on the list! The British writers I read are all horror, dystopia and urban fantasy. I’m familiar with Patrick Ness but I’m not a fan of his books. It’s still fun to look at the list though!

  7. I LOVED Say Her Name! I haven’t read his other books yet, but I can’t wait to try Hollow Pike 🙂 I bought Me Before You a while back, but haven’t got around to reading it yet. Most of the others on your list are new to me, thanks for the recommendations!

  8. Great topic, Chrissi! I’m ashamed to admit I haven’t read any of these – although I am desperate to get to Patrick Ness soon – but one of James Dawson’s books just happened to make my list this week, too. 🙂 I think I’ll have to check out some of Alison Rattle’s work, she sounds right up my alley!

  9. Say Her Name totally freaked me out this past Halloween! Is a great read, but a little bit too scary for me! I also LOVED Trouble, such a great debut! I’ve heard a lot of great things about Jojo Moyes, haven’t got the chance to read any of her stuff yet though, will have to make more of an effort! Great choice for this week, and great list! Happy reading! 🙂

  10. Patrick Ness is one of my favorite authors! I am looking forward to reading something by Jojo Moyes. I keep meaning to read her books, but then I never get around to it. But now I have your recommendation, which means I’ll get on that sooner!

    – Kritika @ Snowflakes & Spider silk

  11. I loved Say Her Name by James Dawson! I may check some of these out for my British Books Challenge 🙂 great list

  12. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday Freebie: Where I Enjoy Reading | Zezee with Books

  13. Ah, Patrick Ness, I adore. I have only heard of a few of the others (Non Pratt, Jojo Moyes, and Cat Clarke) but a lot of these books look REALLY interesting, and I am going to have to check them out! I love being introduced to new authors, so this is a fabulous and helpful list!

  14. I have all of JoJo Moyes books but haven’t read them yet. Which should I start with? I’m eager to read her 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

