We Are All Made Of Stars

How did I get it?:
NetGalley thanks to Random House UK/Ebury Publishing

Previously reviewed by the same author:
The Memory Book

Synopsis:

What if you had just one chance, one letter you could leave behind for the person you love? What would you write?

Stella Carey has good reason to only work nights at the hospice where she is a nurse. Married to a war veteran who has returned from Afghanistan brutally injured, Stella leaves the house each night as Vincent locks himself away, unable to sleep due to Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

During her nights at the hospice, Stella writes letters for her patients, detailing their final wishes, thoughts and feelings – from how to use a washing machine, to advice on how to be a good parent – and posts them after their death.

That is until Stella writes one letter that she feels compelled to deliver in time, to give her patient one final chance of redemption…

Thoughts:

I really enjoyed the previous book I read by Rowan Coleman which was the incredibly touching The Memory Book. Therefore, when I saw it on NetGalley, I just had to snap it up to read right away. Rowan Coleman is a terrific writer and I can’t wait to catch up on more of her books! We Are All Made Of Stars is a touching story which deals with some very heavy issues in a sensitive, thoughtful manner.

The story itself involves a range of characters, who are linked together by Stella, who works at a hospice and writes letters to loved ones of her dying patients. Now, this sounds really morbid, but trust me, it’s beautiful. All of the characters end up being linked in one way or another, it’s seamless.

I have to admit, I didn’t identify with all of the characters as much as I wanted to. Stella and Hope were by far, my favourite storylines to explore. Hope suffers from cystic fibrosis. A condition that I have much experience with after caring for a child with the condition several years ago. I’m still in touch with her family, and I’m happy to say she’s doing well right now. I always like to see cystic fibrosis represented in literature, especially when it’s written as well as Rowan Coleman has done!

What makes this book not as bleak as it seems is that humour is injected every now and then. I really appreciate that in books like this. It’s always a welcome relief from being swept away by your emotions.

We Are All Made Of Stars makes you appreciate the life you have and be grateful for what you do have.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

Another gem from Rowan Coleman. I can’t wait to read more of her work!

6 thoughts on “We Are All Made Of Stars

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

