A Week In The Life Of A Primary PGCE Student: No job for me this week, but that’s okay!

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my massive new venture. I am going to University to train to be a primary school teacher. I will be trained to work with 5-11 year olds. It’s known to be a very, very stressful time so I’m hoping I can channel my thoughts and feelings into a blog post. It gives you an insight into what’s going on in my life and hopefully it’ll be incredibly therapeutic for me. I will NOT be naming any children, schools or teaching staff. I won’t even mention what University I’m at. I hope that’s understandable. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind!

To start of this week, I had a job interview! It was my first one, so I was a little nervous. I had to do a lot of tasks. I had to have a group interview, teach a Maths lesson, carry out a Engish and Maths task and then I found out I was through to the interview process. I didn’t end up getting the job (I got fantastic feedback!), but I think in hindsight, it wasn’t the best school for me. So, I’m back on the job hunt. Please send me positive vibes over the next few weeks. I’d love to get a job secured for September.

My week at school went well. I didn’t teach much as we were winding down to the week break we have next week. What I did manage to teach went really well so I’m very proud of myself! I’m really enjoying my placement school which I’m so happy about. At the start of the placement, I was really unsure, but I’ve found my feet and now I really can’t believe that I’ve only got about 6 weeks left with this class. Crazy!

I won’t have a ‘Week In The Life’ post up next week, as it’s a week break, but the week after next will see how my wonderful class got on with their standardised tests. 😦

8 thoughts on “A Week In The Life Of A Primary PGCE Student: No job for me this week, but that’s okay!

  1. Don’t worry you’ll get the finest job in time. Have Faith! 🙂
    Wow! All of a sudden I am so religious! 🙂
    But the thing is you’ll do great and focus on the positive feedback you got and not losing the job opportunity. Optimism is life.
    Also I am really glad you’ve found your comfort level in the placement school.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

