How To Be Bad

23629114

How did I get it?:
I requested it from Hot Key Books in exchange for a honest review!

Previous books reviewed written by E.Lockhart
We Were Liars
The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks

Synopsis:

Jesse, Vicks and Mel couldn’t be more different. Jesse, a righteous Southern gal who’s as thoughtful as she is uptight, is keeping a secret that she knows will change her life forever. Vicks is a wild-child: seemingly cool, calm and collected on the outside, but inside she’s furious at herself for being so anxious about her neglectful boyfriend. And Mel is the new girl in town. She’s already been dismissed as just another rich kid, but all she wants is to get over some of her fears and find some true friends.

But for all their differences, the girls discover they’ve got one thing in common – they’re desperate to escape. Desperate to get the heck out of Niceville and discover their true ‘badass’ selves! Even if it’s just for the weekend… One ‘borrowed’ car later, it’s time to hit the road and head for Miami. Hearts will be broken, friendships will be tested, and a ridiculously hot stranger could change the course of everything.

Thoughts:

I have to admit that I haven’t always been the biggest fan of E.Lockhart’s books. I didn’t quite ‘get’ We Were Liars as much as the rest of the blogosphere did. I did enjoy The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks more than We Were Liars and I’m happy to say that there’s a trend going on, because I enjoyed How To Be Bad much more than any book I’ve read by E. Lockhart (so far). I don’t think this is because there was more than one writer, I have always enjoyed E.Lockhart’s writing, it tended to be the plot that I had a problem with!

How To Be Bad isn’t the deepest read out there, but it’s one of those books that I think is a great read for summer. It’s a road trip book, which always bodes well for a summer read in my eyes. The story is told in alternating chapters from the point of view of three girls who are incredibly different from one another. The girls have different reasons for going on the road trip, but they get to know each other even better as they go through many different things together.

I think Jesse might be a character that ends up grating on a few people. She is judgmental from the start when she judges Mel for being rich. She then judges her friend Vicks for the choices she makes in her love life. She improves though, so stick with her! I think all of the girls aren’t perfect in this book and it is interesting to read about them and see them grow throughout the story. None of them claim to be perfect which is definitely a redeeming factor.

The road trip element was fun and a lot happened to the girls, some of which wasn’t totally believable, but it was still really fun to read. The reason why I haven’t given this book higher than three stars is because I don’t feel it had enough depth to it and the ending was rather abrupt. Still, I would recommend it for a summery read and especially to those that enjoy road trip stories.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! Certainly for fans of the genre!

Fun and easy to read. A good beach read!

6 thoughts on “How To Be Bad

  1. Hmm…I’m still not ready to try another E.Lockhart but I’ll keep this in mind for the future 🙂

  2. I loathed We Were Liars so when I saw this my heart sank but the fact that it’s a fun fluffy read makes me excited about it. I definitely want to add this to my summer TBR now especially when she’s in the company of such other great authors! Thanks Chrissi!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

