A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student: Fun in the sun!

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my massive new venture. I am going to University to train to be a primary school teacher. I will be trained to work with 5-11 year olds. It’s known to be a very, very stressful time so I’m hoping I can channel my thoughts and feelings into a blog post. It gives you an insight into what’s going on in my life and hopefully it’ll be incredibly therapeutic for me. I will NOT be naming any children, schools or teaching staff. I won’t even mention what University I’m at. I hope that’s understandable. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind!

It was back to school this week, with a training day to start the week off. Yes, on those INSET days, teachers don’t have a day off. They’re in school doing some sort of work and for me, it was levelling/assessing children’s work. Not the most inspiring thing to do, but important nonetheless.

Even though it’s been a shorter week for the children this week, it feels like it’s been a full on teaching week, even though I haven’t really been teaching that much. I’ve freestyled a lot this week, I’ve been teaching in another class whilst my class were getting tested. It’s nice to work with different classes every now and again.

The weather has been lovely this week too, which makes a huge difference. I’m quite an outdoorsy person, so I have been making the most of the weather with the children and getting them out and about in our huge outdoors space. I find their behaviour is much better and there are some great learning opportunities outside. We’ve had Literacy, lots of Science and Art outdoors this week. Fun in the sun indeed!

Next week brings some challenges for me. I have another interview, I have to be formally observed twice (once to make up for my lack of formal observation this week) and I’m also visiting a potential school for September (if I don’t get a job this week!) Pretty full on, but I’m ready and raring to go!

2 thoughts on “A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student: Fun in the sun!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

