A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student- So this is what it feels like?

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my massive new venture. I am going to University to train to be a primary school teacher. I will be trained to work with 5-11 year olds. It’s known to be a very, very stressful time so I’m hoping I can channel my thoughts and feelings into a blog post. It gives you an insight into what’s going on in my life and hopefully it’ll be incredibly therapeutic for me. I will NOT be naming any children, schools or teaching staff. I won’t even mention what University I’m at. I hope that’s understandable. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind!

This week, as I predicted last week, has been a little crazy. For the last month or so, my teacher tutor has been unwell, so I have taken on the full time teaching. I am supposed to have some more time out for planning but that hasn’t really happened. Don’t think I’m complaining, it has given me a great insight into what September will be like… (if I can land a job by then… *crosses fingers*  I’m tired, but I’m also proud of how far I’ve come since September.

I have to admit to being a little emotional this week. I think most of this is down to me. I’m seriously my harshest critic. I think my teacher tutor finds me a little frustrating. No matter how much she praises me, I just can’t seem to get my head around the confidence she has in me. Damn low self-esteem!

I had a job interview this week, I didn’t get the job, but had such amazing feedback that I’m feeling really well prepared for 2 interviews that I have this coming week. Let’s hope by this time next week I’m screaming about a job I have managed to land. I really hope I can manage it, so that I can enjoy the last few weeks of my placement.

My tutor came in from university and graded me HIGH 🙂 I’m so pleased. I’m hoping this grading helps me land that job that I’m desperate for. There are pros and cons for the schools in the coming week, but I’m hoping when the school is right for me, it will just feel right!

4 thoughts on “A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student- So this is what it feels like?

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

