Dream A Little Dream

Dream a Little Dream

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Billy And Me
You’re The One That I Want
Christmas With Billy And Me

Synopsis:

Sarah is doing just fine. Sure she’s been single for the last five years, and has to spend an uncomfortable amount of time around her ex-boyfriend, his perfect new girlfriend and all their mutual friends. And yes, her job as a PA to one of the most disgusting men in London is mind-numbingly tedious and her career is a constant disappointment to her mother. But it’s really okay. She’s happy (ish).

But it’s not surprising that when Sarah starts dreaming about a handsome stranger, she begins to look forward to falling asleep every night. Reality isn’t nearly as exciting. That is until her dream-stranger makes an unexpected real-life appearance, leaving Sarah questioning everything she thought she wanted.

Because no one ever really finds the person of their dreams… do they?

Thoughts:

I have absolutely devoured Giovanna’s previous books Billy and Me and You’re The One That I Want, so it was a no brainer really that I picked up Dream A Little Dream as soon as it dropped through my letterbox on release day. Dream A Little Dream is a fantastic, easy to read chick lit. It’s a perfect book to pick up for the beach or to devour on a sunny afternoon! Even if you don’t read it when the weather is glorious, it’ll give you a warm glow. It’s just one of those books that makes you feel! 🙂

Dream A Little Dream follows Sarah who thinks her life seems to be going okay. She has got a job, which she doesn’t love but at the same time she doesn’t hate it either. She lives with her friend and has a good group of friends who she has known for years. Sarah is still in constant contact with her ex boyfriend as they have the same group of friends. Her ex has a new girlfriend, and although it’s awkward, Sarah does her best to get along with his new girlfriend. Sarah is having dreams of an old friend, she never expects him to turn up in her real life and when he does, she has to remember he’s not as perfect as her dreams made out…

Sarah is a character that is very easy to love. I think a lot of ladies will be able to relate to her. Something that I really liked about her was how much she grew throughout the story. I wanted her to stand up to her ex and release her emotions at the start. I felt towards the end of the book, she really grew in strength. I appreciate real characters and Giovanna is great at writing characters that are raw and real. I loved how close Sarah was with her friends too. There are some wonderfully written secondary characters with stories of their own which we learn about. I could easily see some of these characters having their own book. I’d love to read more from Carly, Sarah’s flatmate. I thought she was a great character.

Giovanna has definitely become an auto buy author of mine. I’m not as big a fan of the genre as I used to be, but I still buy a select few authors from the chick-lit genre. Giovanna is one of them. I love her characters, I love the plot even when it becomes predictable and I love how easy her books are to devour. I can open a book by Giovanna and immediately become immersed in the world and before I know it I’m halfway through!

I would definitely recommend this to fans of the genre. There’s a little bit of explicit language, but it’s never too much, it doesn’t feel out of place.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

Giovanna wins again with a great third book! She is firmly cementing her place in the chick-lit genre!

4 thoughts on “Dream A Little Dream

  1. Another great review. Can I just ask: does the book try really hard to be funny? I’ve been burned recently by a couple of chick-lit reads that were forcing the comedy a little too hard… Would like something a little less “hilarious” and this could be it! 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

