Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit: The Velveteen Rabbit

The Velveteen Rabbit

How did I get it?:
I borrowed it from Beth!

Synopsis:

Nursery magic is very strange and wonderful, and only those playthings that are old and wise and experienced like the Skin Horse understand all about it.

Thoughts:

I never read this book as a young child. I wish I had though because it is one of the cutest children’s stories that I have read in a long time. It may be a really old book, but I truly believe it is timeless. Its message about true love being the only magic you need really touched my heart and I think it’s a lovely message to give to young children.

The story itself is really engaging and easy to read. I devoured it. It made me feel all snuggly and warm inside. The quote below just sums up the general loveliness of this book. It’s packed full of memorable, heart warming words.

‘It doesn’t happen all at once,’ said the Skin Horse. ‘You become. It takes a long time. That’s why it doesn’t happen often to people who break easily, or have sharp edges, or who have to be carefully kept. Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand.”

This book will stay with me for a long time. I’m certainly going to get a copy of it for myself, because I think it’s should be a staple to every book lover’s collection. A gorgeous book that I highly recommend!

For Beth’s brilliant review, check out her blog HERE

Next up in the Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit Challenge (July):
Gangsta Granny- David Walliams

5 thoughts on “Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit: The Velveteen Rabbit

  1. Pingback: Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit 2015 – JUNE READ – The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams | bibliobeth

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

