Perfect Ruin (The Internment Chronicles #1)

Perfect Ruin (Internment Chronicles, #1)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Wither
Fever
Sever

Synopsis:

On the floating city of Internment, you can be anything you dream, unless you approach the edge. Morgan Stockhour knows getting too close can lead to madness, like her older brother Lex, a Jumper. She takes solace in her best friend Pen, and in Basil, the boy she’s engaged to marry. When she investigates the first murder in a generation, she meets Judas. The suspect was betrothed to the victim, but Morgan believes he is innocent. Nothing can prepare Morgan for the secrets she will find – or whom she will lose.

Thoughts:

I thoroughly enjoyed Lauren DeStefano’s Chemical Gardens trilogy, so I’m not sure why I waited for so long to start Perfect Ruin. I was captivated from the first page. I absolutely adored Lauren’s writing and I’m incredibly excited to see where this series goes next.

Perfect Ruin centres around a city in the sky that had a protective force around it. It stops anyone and anything from getting in to it, but at the same time it also prevents people from leaving. Everyone living in the Internment are betrothed to another from birth. Birth is controlled by their being a waiting list to reproduce. Overpopulation is also controlled by each individual having a certain age to die. The life on Internment might sound very harsh, but to its inhabitants everything is controlled but at the same time fair to each individual. When a teenage girl is murdered it shocks Internment. Morgan, who is the main protagonist, starts to question the world where she lives and wonders if life might be better on the ground.

As with Lauren’s other books, I really enjoyed learning about the new characters who I think will continue to grow during the series. I immediately liked Morgan and Morgan’s brother Lex.  I love strong sibling relationships in books. There are other characters, like Pen (Morgan’s friend) who I’m very intrigued to see what happens next.

I am so excited about this world that Lauren DeStefano has created. It does have its similarities to other dystopian reads, especially with the betrothals, however it feels really fresh and unique. I’m not always a fan (actually, hardly ever) of arranged romances, but I felt like it worked with in this instance. I think Perfect Ruin has really set up the series very well. I feel like it’s just going to get better and better! I hope to read the next book soon!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A very intriguing set up to a new world that I can’t wait to explore!

4 thoughts on “Perfect Ruin (The Internment Chronicles #1)

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

