Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list are the Top Ten Hyped Books That I’ve Never Read. I hope I don’t offend anyone with my choices!

As ever the book images go to Goodreads!

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo- Stieg Larsson

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, #1)

I don’t know what it is about this series, it just doesn’t seem to appeal to me at all. I don’t have any desire whatsoever to read it, even though I know it’s supposed to be amazing!

A Game Of Thrones- George R. R Martin

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)

I’m just stepping into the world of fantasy and I have to admit, the size of this book and the length of this series puts me off!

Red Rising- Pierce Brown

Red Rising (Red Rising Trilogy, #1)

Hmm… I keep seeing this series around and I’m not sure that I want to read it!

The Heir- Kiera Cass

The Heir (The Selection, #4)

I have such trouble with this one. The cover is BEAUTIFUL and I enjoyed the series enough, but I just feel like it’s being dragged out a little? Feel free to convince me otherwise…

City of Bones- Cassandra Clare

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)

My good friend really enjoys Cassandra Clare’s writing. I’m just not sure I want to commit myself to another series…

Lord of The Rings- J.R.R Tolkien

The Lord of the Rings (The Lord of the Rings, #1-3)

Lord Of The Rings is another epic read which I don’t think I’ll get around to. I have no interest in it. I’ll go hide now…

Dracula- Bram Stoker

Dracula

I know the story, I’m just not compelled to read the story.

It- Stephen King

It

My sister picked this one for me. She really doesn’t think I’ll EVER read this book. I think she’s right…

The Poisonwood Bible- Barbara Kingsolver

The Poisonwood Bible

I’ve heard good things about this book. I may read it in the future, it’s just not one that stands out to me right now.

The Cuckoo’s Calling- Robert Galbraith

The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike, #1)

I have had this book for so long waiting to be read, but again… not compelled to read it!

Have I mentioned any of your favourites? Feel free to leave a link to your Top Ten posts and I’ll stop by! πŸ™‚

99 thoughts on “Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

  1. I have Cuckoo’s Calling on my list, too. I have friends who think it is quite good.
    Poisonwood Bible is on my top ten books but it is not a summer-type reading.

  2. If you’re going to read a classic, Dracula is one of the best to pick up. Same with The Poisonwood Bible for more of a modern option (not my usual style but definitely worth the time. πŸ™‚

  3. My TTT only overlapped yours a tiny bit, however, nearly every book here that I have not read is on my TBR pile! I will never, ever read IT though. That movie scarred me for life and I don’t need the additional scare by reading the book. Nope.

  4. Honestly, you could do without The Heir. It wasn’t amazing but once you read it, you just need to know the ending. TMI on the other hand, YOU HAVE TO READ. The first 2 books are alright but they really pick up. Personally I prefer the Infernal Devices so if you want something a bit more captivating from the beginning I recommend that series.
    I’m with you for Game of Thrones, though. HIGH FIVE!

    • *high fives* It does not appeal to me whatsoever! Thank you for your honest opinion of The Heir. It is an addictive series, but if I could do without it then I wil. I shall definitely consider the Cassandra Clare books!

  5. Well, The Mortal Instruments is definitely a commitment! It’s worth it though. I could not get into The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I tried a few times but it’s never going to happen. I want to read Red Rising, too. Great list!

    Michelle @ Michelle’s Minions

  6. I try to read LOTR once but it’s confuse me. I prefer to watch the movie. I haven’t read A Game of Thrones too because the size! Also, I tried to watch the show once and did not understand a thing, so no. City of Bones is actually pretty great, though I’m not interested to read the next book because the series is too long!

  7. I’ve tried so many times to read the Game of Thrones – my friend has read the whole series numerous times, and my brother is obsessed with the TV series – but I just can’t seem to jump on the wagon even though I really wish I could!

  8. I am completely with you on Game of Thrones – they look like they will take an epic amount of time to get through! Dracula is my second favourite book ever so if you do get around to reading, I’d love to know what you think. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is fantastic if you like crime novels – if not, you might be disappointed.

    Great list!

  9. I adored The Heir and A Game Of Thrones is much easier to read then it actually looks! I am on the second book of LOTR, but this is taking me much longer! Great list πŸ™‚

  10. I also haven’t read any of these! *high five* City of Bones made my list, too. I’d love to read The Lord of the Rings, but I find Tolkien’s writing style really difficult to get into, and I already find high fantasy confusing enough without a really dense narrative!

    Honestly you’re not missing much with Dracula. I read bits of it for uni but I could never get into it enough to read it all the way through. If you’d like to read some Victorian vampire fiction I highly recommend Carmilla by J. Sheridan Le Fanu, it was actually written before Dracula and it’s brilliant! There’s also an interesting short story by Robert Louis Stevenson called Olalla. πŸ™‚

  11. Game of Thrones and the whole series are quite a commitment. However with the author taking ages to release the next books, you can take your time with these if you are willing to read them.

    Personally I don’t think The Mortal Instruments are worth committing to. Her other series, the Infernal Devices, is though and it is shorter! πŸ˜‰

  12. ‘IT’ is my all time favourite book and I love it! I really want to read this again but I must restrain myself…! *grins* I didn’t like Dracula at all-slow, boring and over descriptive. I didn’t really like the Robert Galbraith book but I’m not a fan of crime novels anyway so no real surprises there! I only read it because it was JK Rowling and as far as crime novels go it looked like a decent read if you like that sort of thing. Game of Thrones frightens me because fantasy is NOT my genre( tho’ I did like LOTR) and the book is HUGE! Might just watch the TV series.

  13. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo was on my list as well, so was the whole Selection series. I haven’t read The Lord of the Rings either, but I don want to try and squeeze The Hobbit in this year maybe if I get the chance πŸ™‚ love the post!!

  14. Lord of the Rings is definitely a must-read!! I’ve reread the entire series (including the Hobbit) about four times over the years, and each time I do I love it even more. It’s such a timeless story! Some people say that the names of all the characters are confusing (because there are A LOT of characters) but I think if you watched the movies first or even after each book they’ll clarify most of the tricky parts. Anyways, great list! πŸ™‚

  15. Red Rising made my list as well! I read and enjoyed the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series – although it did take a minute to get into. The Cuckoo’s Calling is another one I read and liked – but I actually liked the second book The Silkworm more. The rest I am with you on – haven’t read them! Great list!

  16. The poisonwood Bible is very good, but not a happy story. Don’t read it when you’re down. Game of Thrones is awesomely epic, but takes a while to consume. I think it’s worth it though. And I enjoyed Girl with the dragon tattoo, but it is kind of heavy on the business intrigue side. I would have loved a slimmed down version of the books. You should watch the original Swedish movies with Noomi Rapace.

  17. Dracula was way different from what I expected when I read it. But the ending was terrible. And yes, ASOIAF is really daunting if you’re not up for dedicating a year (lol) to reading a series because each book is 1000 pages of tiny writing. I read LOTR when I was in middle school and loved it, but I don’t plan on rereading it.

    I agree about The Heir. While I only thought the series was just okay, I still think she’s jumping the shark here. Great list!

    Christina @ Books & Prejudice

  18. I tried reading the first book in The Mortal Instruments series and couldn’t get through it. I found Dracula a struggle to finish (although I did eventually!). I really enjoyed the Swedish movie trilogy of Girl with the Dragon Tattoo but have yet to finish the book. I’m happy someone else shares a similar sentiment regarding LoTR – as someone who enjoyed the first movie, I tried reading the first book and only finished because it was on the summer reading list in high school.

  19. I wasn’t sure I would like Dracula, but I ended up loving it. It was much more than I expected. The movies really don’t do it justice. I liked The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo quite a bit, but I’ve lost interest in reading the other books in the series–so much so that I gave away my copies of the second two books without having read them.

    I loved Lord of the Rings–both the books and the movies. My husband convinced me to read the books after I saw the first movie.

    I’ve read City of Bones and liked it, but didn’t love it. I haven’t been motivated to read any further in the series. That may change though. Who knows, right?

    I’ve read the first book in the Game of Thrones series and really liked it. I haven’t read further though. The books are a bit intimidating size wise.

    I tried reading The Poisonwood Bible three times. Yeah, no luck. I’ve given up trying. I should do that with War and Peace too, but I’ll probably give that one more chance. Just not any time soon. LOL And It is not one I want to read. I enjoy Stephen King now and then, but most of his books really aren’t for me. It’s not that his books scare me so much as I just have a hard time suspending my disbelief with certain types of horror novels.

    • I’m really glad that you ended up liking Dracula. It’s always nice when a book surprises you!
      I just don’t like committing to long series. I think there are so many good books out there to read that I don’t want to commit to something so long!
      It’s been really interesting to read your comment! Thank you πŸ˜€

  20. Cassandra Clare is one of those authors that I’ll probably continue to buy all her books, since they’re perfect for when I need a slightly angsty, easy to read fantasy. Plus, it’s all about hot people with magical tattoos. That’s a selling point for me right there πŸ˜‰

  21. I love Cassie Clare! Tons of people hate on her but I will read every single book she writes. They are so fun. Red rising & GOT are 2 of my absolute favorite series but they are both really heavy kinda voilent darker books. I enjoyed them both immensely since the world building is just incomparable,
    ❀️Britt @ Please Feed The Bookworm

  22. So I have opinions. BOY do I ever have opinions. So here’s a list. Sorry if it gets really super long.

    Dragon Tattoo – I tried and failed to get into these, but so many crime fiction fans I know loved it once they got invested. I think if you’re a crime fan, make the effort, if it’s not your genre, give it a miss.

    Game of Thrones – I haven’t read the books because a) they’re long and b) EVERYONE DIES. That’s not a spoiler, it’s just a fact. I do love the TV show though, so maybe just watch that if you really must get in on GoT.

    Red Rising is on my TBR as well! I might wait until the whole series is out, though.

    I read like the first four or five books in the Mortal Instruments series and gave up. Attrition. It’s just so long, and there’s so much teen drama, and I just can’t okay. I tried the Infernal Devices, but the beginning of the first book creeped me out so much that I couldn’t keep going. But I’ve got a low creep threshold, so you might be fine with it.

    Cuckoo’s Calling I’m glad I read, but it took me three tries. There’s a lot of repetition of information – like as Cormoran Strike is interviewing people, they keep saying similar things over and over – and I found that a bit hard to get through. I’m hoping that she’ll tighten up the narrative in the other books (I haven’t read the second book yet), but even still, it’s worth reading – I’d just recommend doing it when you’ve got time to get a decent number of pages read in one go so you’re invested. If you try to read the beginning in short bursts it’s likely to lose you.

    I absolutely adore Barbara Kingsolver, though I haven’t read this one yet either! If you want to read her work but are finding this one difficult, I’d recommend starting with The Bean Trees (and its sequel Pigs In Heaven). Shorter book and really easy to get into. One of my faves of all time.

    I’ll stop here (even though I have more thoughts) because that’s way more than enough space I’ve taken up in your comments! Excellent list, and I hope you do give a few of these a try at some point!

  23. I’ve read four of these. “It” is the scariest Stephen King novel I’ve ever read. Really good, but really scary. I found LoTR boring. Loved Dragon Tattoo and Cuckoo’s Calling, but I am a mystery/thriller lover so take that as you will. πŸ™‚ No desire whatsoever to read Game of Thrones. Great list!

  24. Imperfect that it is, I adore Kiera’s series. I’ve not read “The Heir” as of yet, but like you, am a bit worried about the story and where it’s going. I also have to read “The One” still, but from all that I’ve read, I think I’d be happy with it as the “end.”

    Thanks so much for visiting Dreaming Under the Same Moon. πŸ™‚

  25. The only one on your list I can even think to defend woyld be LOTR.s, but I know the series is a bit tedious. My uncle gave it to me when I was a young teen, and I didn’t get into them until the movies started coming out.;)
    Otherwise, I agree whole heartedly.;)

  26. Until J.K. Rowling writes a YA book, I think I’ll pass on her other books. I prefer to think of her as the writer of an amazing, magical series of books that changed my life. My expectations are just way to high for a crime novel. I’m with you on Game of Thrones. That is just not for me. Nor The Lord of the Rings. Great list πŸ™‚

  27. I read the first books of both the Dragon Tattoo and Mortal Instruments series, but never felt the need to go on. I think it’s because of the hype around them that I just couldn’t enjoy them as much as everyone else.

  28. Seriously, this is a good list. A list that should at least mostly stay in tact. Meaning… skip a lot of these πŸ˜‰ City of Bones.. just don’t do it. That book is fine… the next two are fine… and then it’s boring for like 3,000 pages. NOPE. Also, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo? Remember how I just said that the last 3 TMI books were boring? They’re a freaking carnival compared to TGWTDT. SO BORING. I forced myself to finish it but… yawn. And I can’t speak from personal experience, but people don’t seem too crazy about The Heir.

  29. I have actually not read any of those either! Most of them are ones I really have no intention of reading. I started to read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, but just found it boring. But the movie was really good. I read The Selection series, but I was never enthralled with it like some were. I just thought it was okay. Maybe that is why I have no desire to read the newest one.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

