That Girl From Nowhere

That Girl From Nowhere

How did I get it?:
I bought it! Pre-ordered of course, it’s Dorothy Koomson!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
The Flavours of Love

Synopsis:

‘Where are you coming from with that accent of yours?’ he asks.
‘Nowhere,’ I reply. ‘I’m from nowhere.’
‘Everyone’s from somewhere,’ he says.
‘Not me,’ I reply silently.

Clemency Smittson was adopted as a baby and the only connection she has to her birth mother is a cardboard box hand-decorated with butterflies. Now an adult, Clem decides to make a drastic life change and move to Brighton, where she was born. Clem has no idea that while there she’ll meet someone who knows all about her butterfly box and what happened to her birth parents.

As the tangled truths about her adoption and childhood start to unravel, a series of shocking events cause Clem to reassess whether the price of having contact with her birth family could be too high to pay…

An emotional story about love, identity and the meaning of family, That Girl From Nowehere is the new novel from the bestselling author of The Ice Cream Girls, The Woman He Loved Before and My Best Friend’s Girl.

Thoughts:

I have read all of Dorothy Koomson’s books. She’s one of my favourite writers of adult fiction. Dorothy became one of my auto buy authors a few years back. Basically, whenever I find out she’s got a book coming out it gets pre-ordered. Without reading the synopsis. That’s exactly what happened with That Girl From Nowhere. I did not have a clue what it was going to be about until I opened it (and subsequently devoured it!)

At the heart of That Girl From Nowhere is a touching story about family and who we really are. It centres around Clemency, who was adopted at birth. Clem has always struggled with her identity and a chance meeting with someone that has a connection to her past starts to unravel some truths about her family.

I have come to expect that Dorothy Koomson’s books are a lot deeper than you’d first expect. This book has several mysteries that slowly unravel. It isn’t your typical ‘girl finds birth family’ story. There are so many subplots and twists and turns along the way. They’re not predicable either. I thought the characters were incredibly well developed as well. Some I liked more than others, but they all evoked some sort of emotion in me!

The only reason I didn’t give this book the five star treatment was because it felt a little too long in parts. That was my only niggle with the book though! It’s well worth reading to experience a well written story of love, identity and family.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!- 4.5 stars

Another fantastic book from Dorothy Koomson- one of my favourite writers of adult fiction!

6 thoughts on “That Girl From Nowhere

  1. I’ve not heard of Dorothy Koomson before (though The Ice Cream Girls sounds like a familar title), but you have certainly made me curious! Thank you for sharing, I’m definitely going to check out one of her novels 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

