Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity/Diverse Characters

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list are the Top Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity/Diverse Characters. I could mention so many wonderful books that do this, so it’s been incredibly hard to narrow it down!

Undone- Cat Clarke

Undone

This book has diverse characters and deals with suicide. I was absolutely blown away by this book, especially the ending. Oh my goodness!

A Kiss In The Dark- Cat Clarke

A Kiss in the Dark

There is a big secret involved in this story, but I don’t want to give it away. You’ll just have to read it to see why it’s got diverse characters!

Stronger Than You Know- Jolene Perry

Stronger Than You Know

This book features a wonderful character who goes through so much and grows massively throughout the course of the story. I will always recommend this book!

Golden Boy- Abigail Tarttelin

Golden Boy

This is another diverse and bloomin’ wonderful book. It revolves around an inter-sex character.

Gracefully Grayson- Ami Polonsky

Gracefully Grayson

A beautiful story which deals with prejudice and ignorance!

The Art of Being Normal- Lisa Williamson

The Art of Being Normal

This book was recommended to me by several trusted book bloggers. I could see why. I think it’s a fabulously diverse book which has a transgender character at the heart of the story.

Pointe- Brandy Colbert

Pointe

I absolutely adored this book. The main protagonist is dealing with serious issues. It’s so well written!

My Heart and Other Black Holes- Jasmine Warga

My Heart and Other Black Holes

This book deals with mental health/suicide in an incredibly raw, honest manner.

She Is Not Invisible- Marcus Sedgwick

She Is Not Invisible

Marcus Sedgwick’s book has a character who is living without sight. I think this is a beautifully written book.

Lies We Tell Ourselves- Robin Talley

Lies We Tell Ourselves

This book involves race and LGBT. It’s wonderful.

What are your Top Ten books with diverse characters/diversity? Feel free to leave a link to your top ten post and I’ll stop by!

59 thoughts on “Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity/Diverse Characters

  1. I haven’t heard of many of these books. But thanks to this meme, I realized I am not reading that diversely at all. Thanks for the recommendations!

  2. I am familiar with only a few of the titles you mention, and all are ones I would like to read at some point (Lies We Tell Ourselves, My Heart and Other Black Holes, and The Art of Being Normal). The ones I do not know sound good as well! This is a wonderfully diverse list, Chrissi!

  3. Pointe is on a lot of lists this week. I also have The Art of Being Normal on my TBR list and A Kiss in the Dark – but I obviously need to get copies first!

  4. Great list! I haven’t read any of these yet, so I’ll be adding a bunch to my TBR pile. I just love the cover of She Is Not Invisible. I’m always interested in stories that have characters with visual impairments because my mom is blind. 🙂

  5. I basically want to read ALL of these books. How have I not known about these Cat Clarke books? And Stronger Than You Know? They sound amazing! And whoa, Undone is only $2.99 for Kindle right now! Luckily, most of these ARE on my TBR and need to be read ASAP! These are amazing, thanks for putting some new books on my radar!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

