Comparing ‘Remix’ by Non Pratt

Remix

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

Kaz is still reeling from being dumped by the love of her life… Ruby is bored of hearing about it. Time to change the record.

Three days. Two best mates. One music festival. Zero chance of everything working out.

Thoughts before you started reading Remix?

CHRISSI: Excited to see Non’s second book is like!

LUNA: Everybody I know loves Non Pratt so I’m pretty excited about this.

What did you think of Kaz and Ruby?

CHRISSI: What struck me was how realistic these girls were. Neither of them were like me at that age, but I could definitely see traces of my friends and peers at school/college in them both.

LUNA: Surprisingly I was completely sold on Ruby. Which is confusing because character wise Kaz is so much more like me so she should have been the one I had that instant connection with, instead I adored Ruby from the start and grew to appreciate and like Kaz over the course of the story.

Best bit?

CHRISSI: I thought the writing was incredibly easy to read and the story was easy to devour.

LUNA: I enjoy alternating narrative in books and in Remix – it flies, I’m quite accustomed to it being a style used in whole chapters but Ruby and Kaz told their story almost like a conversation. It made the book even more engaging.

Worst bit?

CHRISSI: I really didn’t like what happened to Ruby. Not as in I didn’t think it was well written, it was just so uncomfortable to read and I wanted to scream out at Ruby to make better choices!

LUNA: Not in bad I didn’t like Remix but Ruby’s night out was one of those “I-want-to-climb-into-this-story-and-help” scenarios.

Favourite character/moment?

CHRISSI: I really liked how friendship was at the core of the story. Yes, romance was involved but it wasn’t at the forefront.

LUNA: It sort of tags on to the previous, see in theory I should have really loathed Stu but bizarrely I was kinda routing for the guy. I mean he’s still deserved to suffer for what he did but there was something… and after Ruby’s awful experience he was the one that was there.

Was Remix what you expected?

CHRISSI: I expected it to be a fast paced, engaging read and that’s exactly what it was. I expected the characters to be really raw and realistic and that’s exactly what they were.

LUNA: The people I know have pretty amazing taste in books so I knew I’d enjoy Remix. I’m feeling a bit guilty at not having read Trouble yet, will try and remedy that soon.

Would you recommend it?

CHRISSI: Yes!

LUNA: Absolutely

2 thoughts on “Comparing ‘Remix’ by Non Pratt

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

