Fairy Tale Friday: Little Red Riding Hood

Thanks to Luna for Fairy Chrissi!

This week’s Fairy Tale is the ever so popular Little Red Riding Hood. After seeing how some fairy tales are now Disney-fied, I was really expecting Little Red Riding Hood to be a little more gruesome than I remembered. However, Little Red Riding Hood wasn’t as gory as I had anticipated! It was pretty much the same fairy tale that I remembered from childhood.

The only different thing (for me) was that the huntsman, Little Red Riding Hood and Grandma filled up the wolf’s tummy with stones, so when he woke up he would be too heavy to chase after them. I really don’t recall that! I remember a version when Little Red Riding Hood was eaten by the wolf, the wolf was shot by the huntsman, and then the wolf’s tummy was cut open and out popped Little Red Riding Hood and Grandma. Thinking about it, that’s actually more gruesome than the story I’ve just read! Which version did you read/or are you familiar with?

Whilst writing this blog post, I remembered Carrie Hope Fletcher’s video about the flaws of Little Red Riding Hood. Check it out here:

Next Fairy Tale- The Musicians of Bremen

3 thoughts on “Fairy Tale Friday: Little Red Riding Hood

  1. Pingback: The Big Bad Wolf Gets A Rebranding; A new way to look at the wolf in arts and literature. | Wolf Is My Soul

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

