I Knew You Were Trouble (Jessie Jefferson #2)

I Knew You Were Trouble (Jessie Jefferson, #2)

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Simon and Schuster

Previously reviewed by the same author:
The Longest Holiday
Johnny’s Girl
The Accidental Life of Jessie Jefferson
Thirteen Weddings

Synopsis:

Life as the undercover daughter of a rock god isn’t going to be easy. How will Jessie adjust to her old boring life again after spending her summer living it up with her dad in LA? With tough decisions ahead (and not just choosing between two hot boys), can she cope juggling her two very different lives?
Summer may be over, but Jessie’s story is just beginning…

Thoughts:

Yes. I am sorry if you’re singing Taylor Swift now. I know I am every time I think of this book. Very clever title there. I’m a massive fan of Paige Toon’s writing, both her adult and her young adult books. I just love how all of her characters exist in the same sort of ‘world’. I love the connections and random mentions of other characters. It’s always seamless, and makes me feel like I know the characters. So, I was very much looking forward to reading the next book in the Jessie Jefferson series which is Paige’s young adult series.

This book can definitely be read as a stand alone, but I personally thing it’s a much richer reading experience if you’re familiar with Jessie and her background. It just enhances the book! I will say though, that this is an exciting addition to the first book, following Jessie who I think is an amazing character and her famous Dad Johnny Jefferson, who is one of my favourite male characters ever. (Seriously, if you’re into chick-lit please read Johnny Be Good)

Jessie’s life changes when it is made public who she actually is. I Knew You Were Trouble deals with Jessie finding out who her real friends are and working through a long distance relationship when temptation comes her way. This book certainly gives you an insight into how crazy it must be to have famous parents and never really be free to do your own thing. I loved Jessie’s interactions with her dad, and his dad’s wife Meg.

This book is such a fun summer read. It’s easy to devour, well written, ridiculous in parts but ever so entertaining!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

I think this book would appeal to adult readers that love chick-lit! Fun, flirty and entertaining, what more could you want this summer?

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

