Choker

Choker

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Cara Lange has been a loner ever since she moved away from her best and only friend, Zoe, years ago. She eats lunch with the other girls from the track team, but they’re not really her friends. Mostly she spends her time watching Ethan Gray from a distance, wishing he would finally notice her, and avoiding the popular girls who call her “Choker” after a humiliating incident in the cafeteria.

Then one day Cara comes home to find Zoe waiting for her. Zoe’s on the run from problems at home, and Cara agrees to help her hide. With her best friend back, Cara’s life changes overnight. Zoe gives her a new look and new confidence, and next thing she knows, she’s getting invited to parties and flirting with Ethan. Best of all, she has her BFF there to confide in.

But just as quickly as Cara’s life came together, it starts to unravel. A girl goes missing in her town, and everyone is a suspect—including Ethan. Worse still, Zoe starts behaving strangely, and Cara begins to wonder what exactly her friend does all day when she’s at school. You’re supposed to trust your best friend no matter what, but what if she turns into a total stranger?

Thoughts:

I first heard about this book on a Top Ten Tuesday list and can’t annoyingly can’t remember who posted it! So annoying. I’d like to thank them for recommending this book because it was creepy yet so brilliant at the same time. I couldn’t put it down. It’s a really engaging thriller, which I had a minor problem with…I predicted the big reveal quite early on. The only reason why this was a minor problem was because I still bloomin’ loved the story and was completely absorbed by it. I was just waiting to see if I was correct!

The story starts with a prologue where our main protagonist Cara is playing with her best friend Zoe. Zoe is trying to dare Cara to take some pills that Zoe’s mother has, but Cara is wise to that and decides not to. The story then moves to present times, where Cara has moved away from Zoe and we find that she’s having trouble at her high school. Cara isn’t a popular girl and some of the mean girls in her school are making fun of her. She’s been given the nickname ‘Choker’ after choking on a carrot in the cafeteria. Cara’s feeling pretty miserable with life. Zoe turns up at Cara’s house after running away from home citing problems with her stepfather. Cara is thrilled to have her friend back, but then scary things start happening to the people that have hurt Cara. Cara immediately believes Zoe has something to do with it, but she’s incredibly nervous to confront her.

This book does have a lot of cliches. The typical mean girls, the hot guy, the unpopular girl, but for some reason in this book those cliches didn’t matter to me. I thought Choker was an incredibly atmospheric read, I really felt the tension build creepily. Zoe is a character that will stay with me for a long time. Almost like Amy from Gone Girl. Yeah, I went there.

I don’t think this book will be for everyone though. Some of the scenes are incredibly disturbing and sent a shiver down my spine with its creepiness. Some scenes were so vivid that I’m still picturing them now. A sign of a very good book!

Don’t be fooled by the pretty pink cover. The story certainly isn’t pretty inside. It packs a punch and is a book that I shall be remembering for a while now.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A creepy, atmospheric story!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

