If You Find Me

If You Find Me

How did I get it?:
I bought it from the wonderful Storytellers Inc!

Synopsis:

Carey is keeping a terrible secret. If she tells, it could destroy her future. If she doesn’t, will she ever be free?

For almost as long as she can remember, Carey has lived in the heart of the woods with her drug-addicted mother and six-year-old sister, Jenessa.

Their mother routinely disappears for weeks at a time, leaving the girls to cope alone. Survival is Carey’s only priority – until strangers arrive and everything changes…

Thoughts:

I have had this book on my TBR pile for what seems like forever. I have seen it so highly praised across blogs, so I knew that it was a well loved book. I’m always a bit cautious when everyone I know loves a book, because I feel a great amount of pressure to love it too. Luckily, I did enjoy If You Find Me. It’s certainly not an easy to read book, but I think it’s incredibly well written and so promising considering that this is a debut novel!

If You Find Me is about a sensitive and serious subject matter. Our main protagonist Carey is keeping a secret from many. She has lived in the woods with her younger sister and her drug addict mother. Their mother is always disappearing for one thing or another, until one day their mother is gone for good, leaving the girls to cope. She leaves a letter with some people (I won’t spoil who 😉 ) so they can be found. I really enjoyed how this book was so serious and dealt with sensitive subject matter, but at the same time there was an element of hope and encouragement for a brighter future for the characters.

I was really impressed with the writing in this book. I can’t wait to read more from Emily Murdoch. I adored the characters. Carey and her sister have such a beautiful bond. Carey is such a mature character, wise and mature beyond her years due to having to care for her sister. Carey is never resentful of the fact that she’s had to care for her sister and that they haven’t had a ‘normal’ upbringing. Instead, we see that Carey simply cares and loves her younger sister so much. Carey and Jenessa have to adapt to a modern life and it’s wonderful to see the hope and dreams for the future as the story progresses.

This isn’t a happy read, but there are wonderful moments of hope and joy, which really make this book worth reading in my opinion.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A wonderfully written debut novel. Emily Murdoch is one to watch out for!

2 thoughts on “If You Find Me

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

