Everything I Never Told You *mini review*

Everything I Never Told You

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

Lydia is dead. But they don’t know this yet . . . So begins this debut novel about a mixed-race family living in 1970s Ohio and the tragedy that will either be their undoing or their salvation. Lydia is the favorite child of Marilyn and James Lee; their middle daughter, a girl who inherited her mother’s bright blue eyes and her father’s jet-black hair. Her parents are determined that Lydia will fulfill the dreams they were unable to pursue—in Marilyn’s case that her daughter become a doctor rather than a homemaker, in James’s case that Lydia be popular at school, a girl with a busy social life and the center of every party.

When Lydia’s body is found in the local lake, the delicate balancing act that has been keeping the Lee family together tumbles into chaos, forcing them to confront the long-kept secrets that have been slowly pulling them apart.

Thoughts:

This book definitely fell victim to the dreaded hype monster. I had heard some amazing things about it, so I was ready to love it. Unfortunately, I didn’t love it as much as I wanted to. Don’t get me wrong, the writing style is absolutely beautiful and Celeste Ng is a fantastic writer- her writing is lyrical. I just didn’t connect with the story!

I don’t know why, but I thought that this story was going to be a really dramatic thriller. It’s not. It’s more of a contemporary read about a family, filled with drama. It follows a family who are experiencing a family crisis, when their daughter Lydia goes missing, and is later found dead. This book follows their story, looking at the background behind the family, and why Lydia was desperately unhappy. The reader finds out that everyone in the family isn’t happy for one reason or another.

I think Celeste Ng explored family dynamics in an interesting way, but ultimately I felt that it wasn’t overly believable and felt a little dated in parts. I didn’t connect to the characters at all. I can see why others have enjoyed this book, the writing is beautiful. It just wasn’t a book for me!

Would I recommend it?:
It’s not for me! Unfortunately, I could not connect with this book. It was engaging enough to finish, but I wouldn’t highly recommend it.

This book didn’t live up to the hype for me, but I very much enjoyed the writing!

4 thoughts on “Everything I Never Told You *mini review*

  1. I read this one last year and completely agree with you. It was an okay book, but part of the reason I didn’t like it more is because the blurb made it sound like more of a mystery/thriller. I still enjoyed it, but it was just okay for me.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

