Tonight The Streets Are Ours

Tonight the Streets Are Ours

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Pan Macmillan

Previously reviewed by the same author:
This Song Will Save Your Life

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Arden Huntley is recklessly loyal. Taking care of her loved ones is what gives Arden purpose in her life and makes her feel like she matters. But she’s tired of being loyal to people who don’t appreciate her—including her needy best friend and her absent mom.

Arden finds comfort in a blog she stumbles upon called “Tonight the Streets Are Ours,” the musings of a young New York City writer named Peter. When Peter is dumped by the girlfriend he blogs about, Arden decides to take a road trip to see him.

During one crazy night out in NYC filled with parties, dancing, and music—the type of night when anything can happen, and nearly everything does—Arden discovers that Peter isn’t exactly who she thought he was. And maybe she isn’t exactly who she thought she was, either.

Thoughts:

I thoroughly enjoyed This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales, so it was a no brainer really that I’d request and read her new book Tonight The Streets Are Ours. There’s something about Leila’s writing that is just incredibly easy to read. I devoured Tonight The Streets Are Ours. It’s not a perfect book, but it’s a good, engaging read which I think so many contemporary YA fans are going to absolutely lap up!

Tonight The Streets Are Ours totally looks like a love story, but don’t let that put you off if romance isn’t your thing, because this book is different. It may have a slice of romance, however to me, it was more about friendship, the way relationships can present themselves and finding yourself. It centres around Arden who always is there for her friends, picking up the pieces when they break and showing them how much she loves them. Being there for everyone and being a constant support was what Arden thought love was about. When she realises that many of her relationships are one sided she finds herself searching for answers online and comes across a blog ‘Tonight The Streets Are Ours’. Arden immediately connects with Peter, the writer. When Peter’s girlfriend finishes with him, Arden decides to go to New York with her friend Lindsay to try and track Peter down. Throughout a night of madness, Arden finds out that Peter isn’t as amazing as his blog makes him seem. She also learns a lot about herself…

As I mentioned, I really enjoyed this book, but it’s certainly not without its flaws. It is quite a dramatic read, with all sorts happening some of which aren’t overly believable, but it’s still entertaining.

The characters are interesting but I have to admit, I didn’t connect as well with Arden as much as I wanted to. Don’t get me wrong, she’s not a character which made me want to throw the book across the other side of the room, but I thought she was incredibly irritating. She seemed so focused on how much she was a loyal friend. She really believed in herself- that’s fine, but I’m not so sure that her friends needed her as much as she believed that they needed her. I also didn’t find it believable that she would randomly go and track down a blogger that she didn’t know. A little creepy? I was also slightly concerned that Peter wasn’t freaked out by a stranger tracking him down.

Despite the fact that there are frustrating moments in this book, I wasn’t let down by it and I certainly read it quickly. I really enjoy Leila’s writing. I like that her books make me think. There are profound sentences within her books that make me nod along and appreciate the sentiment!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! 3.5 stars

An easy to read contemporary that’s full of drama!

4 thoughts on “Tonight The Streets Are Ours

  1. This was my first Leila Sales book and it just didn’t work for me. I didn’t really like Arden. I thought she played kind of a martyr role. You hit the nail on the head when you said that Arden’s friends didn’t seem to need her as much as Arden thought they did. I am glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

