Top Ten FREEBIE: Favourite Grimm Fairy Tales

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list is a freebie, which means we are free to pick our topic! I’ve decided to pick my favourite fairy tales that I’ve read so far out of this book:

Every Friday, I read and review a fairy tale. I’m loving exploring them so far! I’ve linked to my review so you can check out my thoughts if you like.

Oh and here I am as a fairy! How cute?!

Thanks to Luna, for making Fairy Chrissi (click on image to get to her blog!)

In no particular order

  1. The Singing Bone– A great but brutual fairy tale with a supernatural element. It involves siblings and murder!
  2. Little Red Riding Hood– I think most people know this story. I loved reading the Grimm version, it’s not too different to the ones I’ve read in the past!
  3. The Mouse, The Bird and The Sausage– Random title, but great story with a moral about being grateful for what you have.
  4. The Riddle– This fairy tale has a crafty Prince. You’ve got to love a crafty Prince!
  5. Hansel and Gretel- Another well known one, but I can’t help it. I adore Hansel and Gretel.
  6. The Three Little Men In The Woods– One of my favourites. It involves wicked stepfamily and a supernatural element. I loved it!
  7. Rapunzel– Another well known one, but you won’t find the Grimm version to be like Tangled. It’s much darker.
  8. The Twelve Brothers– An intriguing tale involving an awful King!
  9. The Cat and The Mouse Set Up House– I absolutely love the cat in this fairy tale. A very conniving cat…
  10. The Frog King– This tale was familiar to me, but I know I didn’t read the Grimm version. It’s much more brutal which I’ve come to expect.

I’m really enjoying exploring Grimm’s Fairy Tales!

What did you do for your freebie this week? Please feel free to leave your links and I’ll stop by. I love a freebie week!

71 thoughts on “Top Ten FREEBIE: Favourite Grimm Fairy Tales

  1. Brilliant idea for this week’s TTT! I love Grimm fairy tales (well, I haven’t read them for a long time, but I did love them!) Hansel and Gretel and Rapunzel were some of my favourites 😀

  2. What?! You mean they don’t sing musical numbers in the Grimm version of Rapunzel? Haha 😛
    I love Little Red Riding Hood! Plus, I’m currently reading Scarlet so totally in the fairy tale mood right now! Great idea for your TTT list, I haven’t actually read any Grimm fairy tales before, may have to rectify that!

  3. Three cheers for fairy tales. I adore the genre though I haven’t read near enough yet. 😉 Rapunzel is one of my favorites – particularly when we’re talking about Disney’s ‘Tangled.’ Great topic and list – and thanks for visiting Dreaming Under the Same Moon.

  4. I’ve noticed that the Grimm versions usually are more brutal than the Disney versions. I love reading them too, though! A fairy tale review every Friday is a great idea! Thanks for linking to your reviews, they’re great! Thanks for visiting Bookworm Book Reviews! Happy reading!

  5. Back when I worked in a library, I started listening to an audiobook of Grimm’s fairy tales. I was surprised by some of the tales that I hadn’t heard before. Have you ever read any of Hans Christian Anderson’s stories? The original Little Mermaid is heartbreaking.

  6. Ohh this is such a fun topic choice! One day,I would love to read all the REAL fairy tales, so this will be handy to know where to start 🙂 Glad you are loving them so much! I find the originals to be so fascinating!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

