Untold (Lynburn Legacy #2)

15801763

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Unspoken

Synopsis:

On the surface, Sorry-in-the-Vale is a sleepy English town. But Kami Glass knows the truth. Sorry-in-the-Vale is full of magic. In the old days, the Lynburn family ruled with fear, terrifying the people into submission in order to kill for blood and power. Now the Lynburns are back, and Rob Lynburn is gathering sorcerers so that the town can return to the old ways.

But Rob and his followers aren’t the only sorcerers in town. A decision must be made: pay the blood sacrifice, or fight. For Kami, this means more than just choosing between good and evil. With her link to Jared Lynburn severed, she’s now free to love anyone she chooses. But who should that be?

A darkly humorous take on Gothic romance, Sarah Rees Brennan’s Lynburn Legacy weaves together the tale of a heroine desperate to protect those she loves, two boys hoping to be saved, and the magical forces that will shape their destiny.

Thoughts:

I couldn’t wait to pick up Untold after really enjoying Unspoken earlier this year. It’s always tricky to review a second book in the series, as I never want to spoil anything tomorrow. This book didn’t really live up to Unspoken for me, but it was still enjoyable nonetheless. Untold continues the story of Sorry-in-the-Vale, the town which is full of dark magic and sorcery. We continue to follow Kami and the Lynburn family. In Untold, Rob Lynburn wants to go back to when the Lynburns were on top of Sorry-in-the-Vale. As at the end of Unspoken, Kami no longer has a connection to Jared, but she still has the desire in her to stand up to Rob.

Kami has to be one of my favourite characters in a series. I think she’s amazing. She’s spirited, she’s funny, she’s strong, what more can you want from a YA character? I think the characters are one of the best things about this trilogy. They are so well developed. I also really appreciated that Kami’s parents are present and care so much about her. If you’re not into YA fiction that might seem like a strange statement to make, but all too often parents are missing in YA!

There is a love triangle going on. It’s YA…how could there not be? However, I never felt like it overshadowed the story. I didn’t believe it as much as I would’ve liked, but it didn’t affect my enjoyment of the story.

Sarah Rees Brennan has a way with humour. I really enjoyed how it was added into an otherwise very dark story. There was a perfect balance of witty conversation and action. The plot itself isn’t very action packed, but at the same time it never feels like it slows too much. It moves at a good pace and kept me turning the pages. I’m excited to see where this trilogy goes next.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! 3.5 stars

A decent middle book in the trilogy. The strength in this trilogy is certainly the characters! 

4 thoughts on “Untold (Lynburn Legacy #2)

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

