Monster

Monster

How did I get it?:
Received from publisher for review consideration!

Synopsis:

At sixteen Nash thought that the fight to become Head Girl of prestigious boarding school Bathory would be the biggest battle she’d face. Until her brother’s disappearance leads to Nash being trapped at the school over Christmas with Bathory’s assorted misfits. As a blizzard rages outside, strange things are afoot in the school’s hallways, and legends of the mysterious Beast of Bathory – a big cat rumoured to room the moors outside the school – run wild. Yet when the girls’ Matron goes missing it’s clear that something altogether darker is to blame – and that they’ll have to stick together if they hope to survive.

Thoughts:

I was really intrigued by the synopsis of Monster. I was certainly interested to see if it was ‘Malory Towers meets I Know What You Did Summer.’  Monster is a quick, unique read. I was entertained throughout and very much enjoyed reading the story. It definitely does have a Malory Towers/Enid Blyton feel to it which I very much enjoyed. I liked how Monster did have horror in it, it set it apart from other boarding school reads.

Monster centres around Nash and her classmates who go to Bathory School which is a boarding school. Nash’s brother has gone missing, so her parents try to find out where he is over Christmas. This means Nash has to stay at her boarding school over Christmas with some other boarders and one adult. Strange goings on have been happening with the rumours of a sighting of a beast that could be linked to the story of The Beast of Bathory. The students are stuck in the school when bad snowstorms strike.

I’m not the biggest fan of the horror genre, mainly because I’m a scaredy cat and the other reason is because I find some young adult horror reads incredibly cliche. You know those moments where you’re rolling your eyes because the characters do something really stupid?! That has happened in a lot of the YA horror books that I’ve read and the same with some horror films too. It seems like Monster seemed to be making fun of these cliches! I enjoyed Monster. It was witty, engaging and kept me turning the pages!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

A witty YA horror which is worth taking a look at!

Monster is out on 24th September 2015!

One thought on “Monster

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2013 Update: Chapter 4 | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

