Ten Tiny Breaths (Ten Tiny Breaths #1)

17571742

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

Kacey Cleary’s whole life imploded four years ago in a drunk-driving accident. Now she’s working hard to bury the pieces left behind—all but one. Her little sister, Livie. Kacey can swallow the constant disapproval from her born-again aunt Darla over her self-destructive lifestyle; she can stop herself from going kick-boxer crazy on Uncle Raymond when he loses the girls’ college funds at a blackjack table. She just needs to keep it together until Livie is no longer a minor, and then they can get the hell out of Grand Rapids, Michigan.

But when Uncle Raymond slides into bed next to Livie one night, Kacey decides it’s time to run. Armed with two bus tickets and dreams of living near the coast, Kacey and Livie start their new lives in a Miami apartment complex, complete with a grumpy landlord, a pervert upstairs, and a neighbor with a stage name perfectly matched to her chosen “profession.” But Kacey’s not worried. She can handle all of them. What she can’t handle is Trent Emerson in apartment 1D.

Kacey doesn’t want to feel. She doesn’t. It’s safer that way. For everyone. But sexy Trent finds a way into her numb heart, reigniting her ability to love again. She starts to believe that maybe she can leave the past where it belongs and start over. Maybe she’s not beyond repair.

But Kacey isn’t the only one who’s broken. Seemingly perfect Trent has an unforgiveable past of his own; one that, when discovered, will shatter Kacey’s newly constructed life and send her back into suffocating darkness.

Thoughts:

I have heard SO much about this book over my blogging days, I have had a copy for such a long time, but for some reason I’m only just getting around to it. I had heard a mix of positive and negative reviews for this book, but as ever, I like to form my own opinion. I thought this book was well written, engaging but I found myself very let down by the ending.

Ten Tiny Breaths centres around Kacey and her sister Livie. Kacey’s life falls apart when a drunk driver hits into a car carrying her parents, boyfriend and best friend. Kacey is the only one that survives. She can’t help reliving it over and over in nightmares. Kacey goes off the rails. She uses drugs, alcohol and sex to numb the pain. After an incident with the family they were staying with Kacey and Livie move to Miami. Kacey has to find a job to support herself and Livie. Kacey doesn’t expect to find people that she wanted to let into her very messed up life.

I thought Ten Tiny Breaths had some really interesting characters that I really grew to love. Storm is Kacey’s new next door neighbour. I really liked her character and liked the friendship that developed between the girls. Storm is a young, single mother trying to provide for her daughter, so whilst the circumstances aren’t exactly the same, the girls have caring and providing for a dependent in common. Kacey’s sister Livvie is adorable. I loved her relationship with her sister. She was struggling to deal with losing her parents and seeing her sister go off the rails. I believed in her. Then there’s Trent, the handsome guy that Kacey is attracted to from the start. Kacey tries to keep away and not fall for him, but ultimately (and perhaps predictably?) Trent manages to win Kacey’s heart.

I did find Ten Tiny Breaths predictable. Around halfway through I guessed the twist, and whilst that didn’t ruin the story for me, the ending unfortunately did. I just did not believe in it whatsoever, which was a great shame as I was thoroughly enjoying reading it! I will still continue the series, as I’m intrigued to see where it goes. I just won’t be going in with very high expectations. If you’re into the New Adult genre, then I would definitely recommend this book!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

This book was heading for 4.5 stars, but I couldn’t stand the ending! 😦

4 thoughts on “Ten Tiny Breaths (Ten Tiny Breaths #1)

  1. I’m so glad you loved this! It was my first ever NA so I adore it despite its faults (that ending…hmmm) I really loved the characterisation especially Liv despite my feelings changing for her in book two but TTB is definitely up there as a fave!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

