Ten Books To Read If You Like The Book Thief

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list are the Top Ten Books To Read If You Like… a certain author/a super popular book. At first I struggled with this topic, but then I decided to go for a book that I loved, but don’t really mention much- The Book Thief.

As ever, click on the book image to get to Goodreads!

These books aren’t necessarily about the same thing as The Book Thief (although some are). They are just books I’d recommend for those that enjoyed The Book Thief.

Sarah’s Key- Tatiana de Rosnay

Sarah's Key

Sarah’s Key is a story set in Paris in 1942. It’s a super emotional read. The narrative jumps around in time, but it’s fantastic and so gripping.

The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas- John Boyne

 The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas

Another emotional, heart-wrenching read, this one set in Berlin in 1942. I’m pretty sure most of you know of this book!

The Wrong Boy- Suzy Zail

The Wrong Boy

This is a story about a Jewish girl who is sent to Auschwitz and falls in love with a German boy.

Prisoner of Night and Fog- Anne Blankman

Prisoner of Night and Fog (Prisoner of Night and Fog, #1)

A great story about ‘Uncle’ Dolf. This is a duology and the follow up is just as good!

Code Name Verity- Elizabeth Wein

Code Name Verity (Code Name Verity, #1)

A powerful, emotional read.

Cross My Heart (and hope to live)- Carmen Reid

Cross My Heart

I wasn’t expecting to like this book as much as I did. It’s set in Brussels in 1940. An incredible book.

Jasmine Nights- Julia Gregson

Jasmine Nights

This book is set in 1942. It’s a love story, beautifully written.

Songs of Willow Frost- Jamie Ford
Songs of Willow Frost

This is set during the Great Depression in the 1920s. Jamie Ford is a great writer.

The Help- Kathryn Stockett

The Help

This is one of my favourite books of all time. It deals with tough subjects in such a beautifully written way.

I Am The Messenger- Markus Zusak

I Am the Messenger

If you liked Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief, then why not try more of his work. I enjoyed this book, it’s confusing though!

What books have you suggested this week? Feel free to leave me a link to your Top Ten lists and I’ll stop by!

65 thoughts on “Ten Books To Read If You Like The Book Thief

  1. I LOVE THE BOOK THIEF #1 BOOK OF ALL TIMES ❤
    THIS POST MADE MY DAY ❤
    I've had my eyes on Code Name Verity and I am The Messenger for a while now. I will go through your other recommendations as well.
    THANKS A LOTTTT!!!!!!!!

  2. I haven’t read The Book Thief, but some of these look so interesting! And that cover for Prisoner of Night and Fog always pulls me in!

  3. Boy in the striped pajamas is an excellent recommendation!

    Another one is Once by Morris Gleitzman, another WW2 novel, really well done, quite short though. Has a couple of sequels also.

  4. I haven’t read The Book Thief nor seen the movie but I have seen The Help’s movie and enjoyed it a lot! I can only imagine how much better the book is!
    My TTT

  5. I really love your list!
    I always have loved historical fiction, and I’ve heard good things about some of these. I’ll definitely be adding books to my TBR because these all sound wonderful!
    Olivia @ Fluttering Pages

  6. Great picks! I always want to read more books surrounding that time period but they always make me sad lol. I really loved Book Thief though. I have Boy in the Striped Pajamas but I don’t think I can handle that yet lol. I totally agree that I am the Messenger was confusing lol

  7. Great list, Chrissi, you have a real array of books here. 🙂 I need to read I Am the Messenger and I’m determined to read Code Name Verity this year. If you like books set during WW2 you might like Charlotte Gray by Sebastian Faulks if you haven’t read it already. ^_^ There’s a great film adaptation with Cate Blanchett, too!

  8. I have had the Book Thief on my bookshelf for ages but still haven’t read it! Same with Boy int he Stripped Pajamas and The Help, although I have seen the films for those two. I have heard so many good things about Code Name Verity and I really hope I get round to reading it one day! My list is based around Colleen Hoover this week … Mt TTT

  9. Markus Zusak is one of my all time favourite authors. He has such a wonderful way with words and his books always pack a punch and make me think about things long after I finish the book. I’ve heard a lot of great things about Code Name Verity so I’ll definitely be checking that book out soon.

  10. I really want to read Anne’s WWII novel. The covers of her books are beautiful and the stories sound amazing. 🙂 Great list – and thanks, as always, for visiting Dreaming Under the Same Moon.

  11. The Book Thief is my favorite, number one book of all time (ok maybe not but I can have multiple), which is why I am taking all of these books and putting them ALL ON MY TBR. I love WWII books so so so so so much, that it has become an obsession. So thank you SO MUCH for this list Chrissi!!!

  12. Pingback: Friday Finds #3 – One Little Bookshelf

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

