After You (Me Before You #2)

After You

How did I get it?:
NetGalley and I also bought the hardback copy.

Synopsis:

Dear Reader,

I wasn’t going to write a sequel to Me Before You. But for years, readers kept asking and I kept wondering what Lou did with her life. In the end the idea came, as they sometimes do, at 5:30 in the morning, leaving me sitting bolt upright in my bed and scrambling for my pen.

It has been such a pleasure revisiting Lou and her family, and the Traynors, and confronting them with a whole new set of issues. As ever, they have made me laugh, and cry. I hope readers feel the same way at meeting them—especially Lou—again. And I’m hoping that those who love Will will find plenty to enjoy.

—Jojo Moyes

Thoughts:

This book has been causing me some turmoil. I’ve made no secret of the fact that Me Before You is one of my favourite books of all time. It really is. I highly recommend it. It is a book that moved me in so many ways. The writing is beautiful. When I heard that Jojo had written a sequel, I was terrified. I wasn’t sure I was going to read it because I didn’t want anything to taint the wonderful Me Before You. I have the same thing with the movie. Not sure I’m going to watch it. I eventually decided to pick it up and give it a go.

I’m glad I read After You, but for me, it didn’t match up to its predecessor. Don’t get me wrong, it was an easy to read book and I loved reading about Louisa again, but I missed Will. Louisa without Will breaks my heart, like it did in Me Before You. I know this book was written because Jojo kept on being asked about what happened to Louisa, but It certainly didn’t satisfy me as much as I would’ve liked it too.

I am going to talk about the positive aspects of this book, because they are definitely there. Jojo Moyes is one of my favourite writers. She just understands and portrays real people effortlessly. I loved Louisa, in Me Before You, so I loved reading about her life as she tried to tie up some loose ends in her life. The book takes place around 18 months after Will’s death, Louisa is surprised when something from Will’s past comes to haunt her. She feels she owes it to Will to sort things out.

Jojo Moyes is an amazing writer and I did enjoy reading the sequel. I’m just not sure that it added too much to the story. I just missed the Louisa and Will banter and deeply missed Will.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

This is a decent read, but it was never going to match up to my favourite book of all time. I’m glad I read it though!

13 thoughts on “After You (Me Before You #2)

  1. I don’t think I’m going to read this. For me, Me Before You ended in a perfect place and I’d rather think of Louisa still in Paris reading Will’s letter than know what happens next! This is why I haven’t read the 3rd Bridget Jones – I can’t bear to think of her without Mark D’Arcy 😦

    • I know what you mean. I was so torn and didn’t know if I’d read this book. But I’m kind of glad I did. I’m not sure I will be reading the third book if she does go ahead and write it. I’m not sure if I’ll watch the movie either. I don’t want my perfect Me Before You ruined!

  2. I agree that it was good, but nowhere close to the original, though I’m still glad Moyes wrote it. What did you think of Lily? I HATED her so much for almost the entire book. I think that ruined a big portion of the book for me.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

