Flat-Out Matt (Flat-Out Love #1.5)

17611379

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Flat-Out Love
Left Drowning

Synopsis:

Matt is a junior at MIT. He’s geeky, he’s witty, he’s brilliant.

And he’s also very, very stupid.

When beautiful, cool, insightful Julie moves in with Matt’s family, why (oh why!) does he pretend to be his absent brother Finn for her alleged benefit?

It seems harmless enough until her short-term stay becomes permanent. And until it snowballs into heart-squeezing insanity. And until he falls in love with Julie, and Julie falls in love with Finn.

But … Matt is the right one for her. If only he can make Julie see it. Without telling her the truth, without shattering them all. Particularly his fragile sister Celeste, who may need Julie the most.

You saw Matt through Julie’s eyes in Flat-Out Love. Now go deeper into Matt’s world in this Flat-Out Matt novella. Live his side of the story, break when his heart breaks, and fall for the unlikely hero all over again.

Thoughts:

I really enjoyed Flat-Out Love. I remember feeling very surprised that I liked it as much as I did. New Adult isn’t my favourite genre, but I really think this series is one of the best New Adult reads I’ve read. It has got some sexual content, but it’s certainly not over the top or something that guides the story. This story is particularly emotional. Novellas aren’t usually my kind of thing, but I just had to pick up this one!

Flat-Out Matt does cover some of the same content from Flat-Out Love, so I don’t want to go into it too much. I loved Matt in Flat-Out Love, but I grew to love him even more in this story. We hear from his perspective on certain chapters from Flat-Out Love, but what I loved about this novella, was that we also gained some extra information. I loved how there was a chapter with Matt and Finn. I could feel the bond between them even in such a short chapter

I adore Celeste, Matt’s sister. I have a copy of Flat-Out Celeste ready to be devoured and I can’t wait to read more from her point of view. Jessica Park has created some great characters which I really care for, which is quite unusual for me in a New Adult book.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! 3.5 stars

A fantastic novella which cemented my adoration of a character!

One thought on “Flat-Out Matt (Flat-Out Love #1.5)

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

