We’ll Never Be Apart

We'll Never Be Apart

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Children’s Books

Synopsis:

Murder.

Fire.

Revenge.

That’s all seventeen-year-old Alice Monroe thinks about. Committed to a mental ward at Savage Isle, Alice is haunted by memories of the fire that killed her boyfriend, Jason. A blaze her twin sister Cellie set. But when Chase, a mysterious, charismatic patient, agrees to help her seek vengeance, Alice begins to rethink everything. Writing out the story of her troubled past in a journal, she must confront hidden truths.

Is the one person she trusts only telling her half the story?

Thoughts:

I really wasn’t sure what to expect when I started We’ll Never Be Apart. I certainly didn’t expect to be immediately gripped and hooked into the story. Oh my goodness! This is a frickin’ amazing debut novel and I can’t wait for it to come out tomorrow and hopefully be read by many people! I know I’ll be recommending it to many. The only reason why I didn’t give this book the full five star treatment was that I had predicted what was going on and for a five star in the thriller genre, I like to be surprised.

We’ll Never Be Apart centres around Alice Monroe who is as at a mental health facility after an attack by her twin sister Cellie. Alice is suffering from burns and also a broken heart after her boyfriend was burned to death by Cellie. Alice keeps a journal after a request from her doctor. Alice wants to find her sister, who has also been institutionalised, so she can hurt her and make her pay for the things she has done. As Alice writes, memories start to unlock and she begins to realise what is going on.

We’ll Never Be Apart hooked me from the beginning. It is full of twists and turns. I was trying to guess what was going on from the beginning and kept changing my mind to what was happening, until the book progressed and I did guess what exactly was going on. This book is intense. It really does sweep you along as you’re reading it. It’s not a particularly easy topic to read about, but I appreciated how it was portrayed. Alice’s therapist and social worker are portrayed as helpful and human. They come across as incredibly supportive and I love that. All too often, mental health professionals aren’t portrayed in a great manner, so when they are, it makes me happy.

I thought that Emiko Jean’s writing style was incredibly easy to read. As I mentioned, I was utterly gripped, turning the pages eager to find out what exactly was going on and whether my predictions were right or not. I love this genre, and I was so impressed by this debut. Read this book if you’re into pyschological thrillers. It’s fantastic!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course! 4.5 stars

An almost flawless debut!

4 thoughts on “We’ll Never Be Apart

  1. Psychological professionals portrayed as actual helping humans instead of evil crackpots? Um, yes please. I can’t wait to read this. I have the ARC and have been behind, but now I really want to bump it up. Nice review!

    C.J.
    Sarcasm & Lemons

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

