Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist

Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist

How did I get it?:
It was a gift!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares
Two Boys Kissing
Marly’s Ghost
Every Day

Synopsis:

Nick frequents New York’s indie rock scene nursing a broken heart. Norah is questioning all of her assumptions about the world. They have nothing in common except for their taste in music, until a chance encounter leads to an all-night quest to find a legendary band’s secret show and ends up becoming a first date that could change both their lives.

Thoughts:

I haven’t seen the movie adaptation of this book, but knew that I wanted to read it after it came highly recommended by some of my good blogging friends. It’s a good, well written, fun short read by talented authors Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. I’ve come to expect good writing from David Levithan particularly, as I wasn’t let down.

Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist takes place over the course of a night and we read from both Nick and Norah’s point of view. It is essentially a romance, but I think it has a wider appeal as well.

I have to admit that Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist is one of the most raw and honest YA books that I’ve read. It really shows how a lot (not all) of teenagers act and think. Rachel Cohn and David Levithan surely have written a very realistic books. Nick and Norah are both characters who I think are easy to relate to. The only problem I really had with their relationship was that it came across as insta-love and I’m not a big fan of that. It didn’t spoil the story though, because I could see past it.

I have to admit that whilst the book was realistic, the plot did begin to grate on me after a while. It felt repetitive in points which I didn’t enjoy. That said, this book didn’t take long to read and it is one I would recommend, especially to fans of David Levithan!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! 3.5 stars

A quick and enjoyable read! 

2 thoughts on “Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

