Bittersweet

12478533

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Twenty Boy Summer
Fixing Delilah
#scandal

Synopsis:

Once upon a time, Hudson knew exactly what her future looked like. Then a betrayal changed her life, and knocked her dreams to the ground. Now she’s a girl who doesn’t believe in second chances… a girl who stays under the radar by baking cupcakes at her mom’s diner and obsessing over what might have been.

So when things start looking up and she has another shot at her dreams, Hudson is equal parts hopeful and terrified. Of course, this is also the moment a cute, sweet guy walks into her life… and starts serving up some seriously mixed signals. She’s got a lot on her plate, and for a girl who’s been burned before, risking it all is easier said than done.

It’s time for Hudson to ask herself what she really wants, and how much she’s willing to sacrifice to get it. Because in a place where opportunities are fleeting, she knows this chance may very well be her last…

Thoughts:

There’s just something about Sarah Ockler’s books which I find really comforting, so when I was looking for a fluffier read, I certainly went for Bittersweet What I like about Sarah Ockler’s book, is that there is usually some depth to the book whether it be a family issue or a personal issue with the character, so whilst I called it fluffy it’s not all fluffy, there is so emotional depth to it and I’ve found this to be the case with all of Sarah’s books that I’ve read so far.

Bittersweet is the story of Hudson Avery who is a keen ice skater. She deliberately messes up in a competition, hoping that it will keep her family together. It doesn’t. Her father ends up leaving the family, and her mother has to provide for Hudson and her younger brother, which proves to be a struggle. Hudson has to take on responsibility for her brother and for the diner in order to help provide for her family. Hudson receives a letter about a skating scholarship which she throws all of her energy into. She sees it as a ticket out of the town, but it isn’t all it’s made out to be and Hudson finds herself having to make choices that will affect her life.

Bittersweet is a great book to devour in a couple of sittings. It was interesting to see the characters develop. They are all likeable characters who you can really relate to. I believed in the characters and wanted things to turn out well for them. I would recommend this book, for those looking for an easy, but enjoyable read!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Another good book by Sarah Ockler. Well worth reading!

4 thoughts on “Bittersweet

  1. I will admit I was drawn to this book by the biscuit on the front. I’m really into baking at the moment and when I saw the cover started thinking about jigsaw biscuits haha. But then when I read your review and found out it had ice skating in it I was interested because I LOVE ice skating (not actually doing it myself, I suck at the whole balancing thing, but I totally love watching/read about ice skating!)
    I totally get what you mean about the fluffy-not fluffy thing, I like books like that too. Not too deep that you turn into an emotional mess, but deep enough that you actually feel emotion whilst reading it. I may have to look into this one a bit further 🙂

    • It sounds like this could be the book for you then! 🙂 I’m glad you understand about fluffy-not fluffy. I feel that this book has got a really good balance! Let me know if you do read it!

  2. I love Sarah Ockler’s books too… and I think this one is my favorite. Hmmm I don’t know maybe Twenty Boy Summer is. Hard choice. I really loved the brother and Mr. Napkins. And all the hockey boys. The only thing I didn’t like was the best friend and the mom. Both made me raging mad. But not in a way that made me dislike the book, in a way that made the book more interesting 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

