The Lost Girl

The Lost Girl

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

Eva’s life is not her own. She is a creation, an abomination – an echo. Made by the Weavers as a copy of someone else, she is expected to replace a girl named Amarra, her ‘other’, if she ever died. Eva studies what Amarra does, what she eats, what it’s like to kiss her boyfriend, Ray. So when Amarra is killed in a car crash, Eva should be ready.

But fifteen years of studying never prepared her for this.

Now she must abandon everything she’s ever known – the guardians who raised her, the boy she’s forbidden to love – to move to India and convince the world that Amarra is still alive …

Thoughts:

I first came across this book during a Top Ten Tuesday blog hopping session! I had seen it around many blogs, and decided that I needed to get my hands on a copy! I’m so pleased I did, as I thought it was an incredible debut novel. It’s very memorable. I’m writing this review days after reading it (which I don’t usually do, I usually write straight away or ASAP) and the story has still stayed with me. A sign of a very good book!

The Lost Girl centres around Eva. Eva has been created as an Echo for Amarra. She has been created incase something happens to Amarra. If Amarra dies than Eva takes her place. Eva has to spend her life studing Amarra, learning about the boy Amarra loves to fully prepare herself if she needs to take Amarra’s place!

I was hooked from the start, and found myself questioning whether I would want an Echo created of the people I love. Would it really be like them or would the true soul of the person I loved never return to the Echo’s body? I couldn’t believe how much The Lost Girl provoked such thoughts. Although I liked the idea of an Echo, I did feel sorry for Eva. Being created purely for the process of replacing another is pretty rubbish. Eva’s life was so restricted and not her own. Even when she fulfilled her role as Amarra’s Echo, she had to fight to prove herself. Her life was never straight forward. Eva is a superb character and one that really will stick with me for a long time!

I’m so pleased that I came across this book, because it ended up a 5 star read for me. I couldn’t fault it! I really wasn’t expecting a 5 star read when I picked it up, so my expectations were highly exceeded! I hope to read more from Sangu Mandanna in the future!

Would I recommend it?:
Without a doubt!

An amazing, thought-provoking debut!

4 thoughts on “The Lost Girl

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

