Top Ten Things That Disturb Me In Books

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list is a Halloween freebie, which means we are free to pick our topic! I decided to go with things that disturb me in books. I have a very vivid imagination so it’s not hard to scare or disturb me. In no particular order…

  1. Ghosts- I can sometimes put up with them if I read the book during the day.
  2. Any sort of abuse- I can read about it, but it does tend to disturb me.
  3. Violence- I don’t like reading about too much violence. Delicate mind!
  4. Bullying- I appreciate it being talked about, but I hate reading about extreme forms of bullying.
  5. Slut-shaming- Absolutely detest slut-shaming!
  6. Epidemics- I love reading about them but they terrify me!
  7. Children who turn out to be killers. Fascinating reads, but terrifying all the same.
  8. Hitchhikers.. I’m always a bit worried about their intentions and whether they’ll turn pyscho!
  9. Demonic creatures that are described so vividly that I remember them YEARS later.
  10. Gore. Again.. vivid imagination, weak stomach! Some descriptions have actually made me nauseas!

What have you picked for your Top Ten Halloween Freebie? Feel free to link me to your post and I’ll stop by!

54 thoughts on “Top Ten Things That Disturb Me In Books

  1. I’m also incredibly disturbed by children who turn out to be psycho-killers. Aside from the killing, there is just something so inherently wrong about a kid like that. Epidemics scare me too, mostly because it’s far more realistic than most horror themes. I mean, with our technology, and our research into these diseases… One day, a researcher will make a mistake, we’re only human after all. And those consequences! Great list πŸ™‚

  2. Great and unique idea for this weeks freebie list, I haven’t seen another list like this one today. Haha, I always have bad expectations of hitchhikers too! I could never trust a stranger in my car with me, would freak me out so reading about it would make me very nervous.
    I’m not too bad with violence. I don’t mind the odd fist fight, and I have read a few books featuring fighters who do the whole ‘fight to the death’ thing and they have all been ok, I guess it’s the way that the author writes it.
    Not a big fan of ghosts. Either they are done in a totally cheesy way that annoys me, or in a way that totally freaks me out and leaves me unable to sleep for like a week!
    Really great list! Hopefully you will manage to dodge some of these things in your future reading πŸ™‚

  3. Great topic! The only thing that REALLY scares me in books and movies are demonic possessions. I just can’t handle it and I tend to steer clear of those type of books/movies. I did make the mistake of watching The Exorcism of Emily Rose YEARS ago, I mean like 10 years ago when it was out in theaters and I still have nightmares about it *shudders*

  4. I try to stay away from anything that has too much gore, in books, TV or movies (though I’m a huge Walking Dead fan, despite that). I always say I prefer to be completely creeped out than grossed out.

  5. What a great idea for a topic, Chrissi! I wish I had thought of it. Abuse bothers me too, especially when it involved children and animals. I used to be able to tolerate more violence in my reading than I can now. It bothers me more these days. Slut-shaming–I hate that too.

  6. Great idea for a topic! I can live with fictional gore in a horror/supernatural setting, but can’t read about realistic crime scenes with blood, dismemberment, etc. And anything involving kids turning evil is just way too creepy for words!

  7. Ohh great topic!! I agree with you about epidemics- they are so scary, BUT I love them. A lot. Which makes me sound a wee bit psycho πŸ˜‰ I have a hard time with abuse and violence too, I read it, but it is hard. And I don’t like gore. Especially if it is just for shock value!

  8. Pingback: October Reads + Weekly Wrap Up #9 | I read books.

  9. Oh my gosh, yes, epidemics. I seek out any and all books about them but good grief do they freak me out. Great list! Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

