Chrissi’s Class Reads…#2

Over the past 8 weeks, we have been devouring Roald Dahl. I really want to get through the Roald Dahl collection with my class, so when we go to vote for our class book I give them the option of three books. I read the blurb to them. They then sit on the floor and put their heads down so they can’t be influenced by their peers and raise their hand for the book they want. The majority rules!

We have went through 5 Roald Dahl books so far! FIVE!!! My little bookworms make this bookish heart very very happy.

Book images go to Goodreads!

George's Marvellous Medicine

We started with George’s Marvellous Medicine which they absolutely adored (and voted for as their favourite of the half term). I incorporated lots of fun things into our lessons whilst we were reading it. I used it for problem solving, number bonds to ten, writing ingredients etc. The possibilities were endless. We also ended up making a marvellous medicine of our own which was very fun!

The Magic Finger

The next book was The Magic Finger which didn’t takeus long to read at all. We made up all sorts of dramatic games for this one, pretending we had magic fingers. The children also got to write creatively and freely about what they would do with a magic finger. I was surprised by how much they took away from this book. They spoke about animal cruelty and how the family were being treated by how they were treating animals.

The Twits

We then moved onto The Twits. They really enjoyed, but were equally horrified by this book. We had great fun predicting what might happen next. The children also created some fantastic character descriptions.

Fantastic Mr. Fox

Fantastic Mr Fox was the next choice. The children really loved this book, which I’m pleased about because it’s not a personal favourite of mine. I’m glad I didn’t pass that on! I did enjoy making up some Fantastic Mr Fox word problems for them though!

Esio Trot

During the last week of term we read Esio Trot. This was a short book. Well, it would have been if they didn’t keep stopping me to tell me of the different sentence types that they had identified from their grammar lessons! Bless them. They’re always trying to impress me and I hope they realise that they DO impress me. These children are 6 and 7 years old and showing such enjoyment out of literature. That’s all I can ask for.

2 thoughts on “Chrissi’s Class Reads…#2

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

