The Lost And The Found

The Lost and the Found

How did I get it?:
I borrowed it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Entangled
Torn
Undone
A Kiss In The Dark

Synopsis:

LOST.

When six-year-old Laurel Logan was abducted, the only witness was her younger sister. Faith’s childhood was dominated by Laurel’s disappearance – from her parents’ broken marriage and the constant media attention to dealing with so-called friends who only ever wanted to talk about her sister.

FOUND.

Thirteen years later, a young woman is found in the garden of the Logans’ old house, disorientated and clutching the teddy bear Laurel was last seen with. Laurel is home at last, safe and sound. Faith always dreamed of getting her sister back, without ever truly believing it would happen. But a disturbing series of events leaves Faith increasingly isolated and paranoid, and before long she begins to wonder if everything that’s lost can be found again…

Thoughts:

As you will see from my previously reviewed by the same author section of this review, I clearly like Cat Clarke’s writing! I was highly anticipating The Lost And The Found after adoring Undone and A Kiss In The Dark, of her more recent releases. Whilst I enjoyed The Lost And The Found, I didn’t feel like it was the best book I’ve read from Cat Clarke. It’s still enjoyable, but it felt a little too long in places and not as fast-paced as her previous books. I was really worried that it wasn’t going to be the gripping read I’m used to, especially as I got nearer to the ending, but finally I got the suspenseful, exciting writing that I’ve come to enjoy from Cat Clarke.

The Lost And The Found centres around Faith, who has been living in the shadow of her big sister Laurel for thirteen years. Laurel was kidnapped which completely changed their lives. Faith has grown up with parents that are dealing with the experience of a missing child, she’s grown up with press intrusion and her mum and dad divorcing. Faith is happy enough with a good set of friends. She spends time with her dad and his boyfriend. One day, Laurel is found alive and well. Faith has really mixed feelings about her sister. She’s happy that Laurel has returned, but she also begins to resent the amount of attention that Laurel receives.

I thought it was really interesting to follow how intrusive the media are in this situation. Faith grows up with the media’s constant intrusion. They analyse every detail and constantly seem to be judging the family. It didn’t really occur to me the effect it has on siblings of missing children. Most of the time, much compassion is given to the parents, but it affects the whole family.

The only reason I haven’t rated this book any higher, was because I had some trouble with how the ending was resolved. I can’t say anymore without spoling it, and this is a book that deserves to be read without spoilers!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Another good book from Cat Clarke. She sure knows how to do a plot twist!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

