Top Ten Book To Movie Adaptations That I Don’t Actually Mind

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list are the Top Ten book to movie adaptations. I don’t actually watch a lot of book to movie adaptations. I tend to think the book is better, but here are ten I don’t mind!

A Little Princess- A little different to the book, but good nonetheless! I adored this movie as a child.

Little Women- One of my favourite classics. I think Winona Ryder was a perfect Jo March!

Harry Potter- I don’t think the adaptations are flawless, but they’re so good!

Divergent- I enjoyed Divergent and was hoping I’d like the adaptation. I was pleased with it. Again, not flawless, but decent, in my opinion anyway!

The Hunger Games– An adaptation done very well indeed.

One Day- I know that not everyone likes this adaptation but I was pleasantly surprised by it.

The Help- I was nervous with this one as it’s one of my favourite books, but it’s so faithful to the wonderful book.

Gone Girl– Rosamund Pike was so well cast!

Marley and Me– This one got me good. I can’t help but cry to it!

A Walk To Remember– I know a lot of people roll their eyes at Nicholas Sparks, but I really enjoyed A Walk To Remember. Such a touching book and movie.

What have you added to your list? Are you as cautious of adaptations as I am? Feel free to leave a link to your blog and I’ll stop by!

70 thoughts on “Top Ten Book To Movie Adaptations That I Don’t Actually Mind

  1. I love the Harry Potter movies too. 🙂 Like you said, they aren’t perfect, but I love them. I really liked how the Divergent movies have come out so far and am anxious to see Allegiant. I love the Hunger Games movies more than the books. I know that’s a criminal thought, but it’s true. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the movie version of The Help as much as the book. One day I really will read the book and watch the movie. I was really impressed with Gone Girl. Marley and Me is one book and movie I can’t say I want to see, even despite the praise. The whole dog dying part is too much for me, I’m afraid. I just can’t go there.

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

  2. I’ve probably seen A Walk to Remember at least 10 times and I cry every single time. I read One Day and liked the book. Still can’t believe I haven’t seen the movie yet

  3. I love that version of Little Women- a holiday favorite. Gone Girl was really good too. And I’m dying to see Mockingjay! I know that ending is going to be a killer though. Fab list!

  4. I remember the first time I watched A Walk To Remember and I had know idea what it was about and by the end of the movie I was a sobbing mess.
    I really like One Day and and Gone Girl though I haven’t read the book for either of them!
    Great list 🙂

  5. I loved The Little Princess! It was one of my favorites as a kid. Great list, Chrissi and thank you for stopping by. 🙂

  6. Great movie selections!!! I agree that The Hunger Games is one of those very very very few good movie adaptations. I actually watched the movie first and it made me read the whole series.

    As a fan of Anne Hathaway, I would say that One Day is great. (Haha. Biased!) I haven’t read the book, though.

    Finally, Rosamund Pike is exactly the epitome of an insane fierce woman! Both the book and the movie are just creepy great! 😀

    BTW, here’s my TTT: http://wp.me/p4ZhSl-kk. 🙂

  7. I SO agree with Little Women!! I love that version of it! It was one of my childhood movies that I watched 10,000 times. I wanted to punch Kirsten Dunst in the face every time though!! I also loved A Walk to Remember and I think the Hunger Games movies are BETTER than the books. J-Law is such a better Katniss than actual Katniss was to me. And Peeta!!! I love him in the movies, but in the books he wasn’t all that. Great list 🙂

  8. You’re right, the HP adaptations aren’t perfect but I do love them as well. I think they did it as well as they possibly could. I really loved The Help movie but I haven’t actually read the book. And the same with Gone Girl! I do want to read the books though.

    Great list! It’s great to show that there are quite good adaptations out there too!

  9. I think they’ve done a really good job with The Hunger Games–they’re so watchable!
    I think the first two HP films are… not good. They are proper, proper kids films, and i didn’t like the style. The third one, imo, is the best and i can’t rate it highly enough. The rest, while well-made, are, as most adaptations, just not quite the books. I feel the same about Gone Girl–really well made, but just not as good as the book.

    My TTT 🙂

  10. I love the title of this post. I totally relate to feeling disappointed by film adaptations. I really liked all the films on this list though, especially Little Women and Harry Potter (two of my favorite books, so I’m really glad the movies were good too).

  11. LOVE your list, the only one I haven’t watched is Little Women.
    Harry Potter is a great choice, as are the Hunger Games and Divergent. I only watched The Help recently but loved it, haven’t read the book yet though.
    A Walk To Remember is amazing, so so so much love for that film. Have you read/watched Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks too? That one is my favourite! 🙂

  12. Oh, I loved A Little Princess as a little girl too, I still tear up at the end when he doesn’t recognize her. Little Women and Gone Girl were pretty good too and of course HP! I love A Walk to Remember as well, sometimes if it’s on TV I’ll only watch it to a certain point because it’s too painful!

  13. I loved this adaptation of ‘A Little Princess’ as well as ‘Little Women’ and of course ‘Divergent’ and THG. Ordinarily I’d have not liked ‘One Day’ just because I like happy endings, but I went in knowing what would happen and as a result, didn’t mind it. 🙂

    Thanks so much for visiting Dreaming Under the Same Moon.

  14. I’m definitely with you on Harry Potter. I actually saw the first film and got hooked before I read the books. I’m reading Gone Girl now and included it on my list for this week as an adaption I’m looking forward to watching.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

