Ask Again Later

Ask Again Later

How did I get it?:
I borrowed it from Luna’s Little Library

Synopsis:

Despite what her name might suggest, Heart has zero interest in complicated romance. So when her brilliant plan to go to prom with a group of friends is disrupted by two surprise invites, Heart knows there’s only one drama-free solution: flip a coin.

Heads: The jock. He might spend all night staring at his ex or throw up in the limo, but how bad can her brother’s best friend really be?

Tails: The theater geek…with a secret. What could be better than a guy who shares all Heart’s interests–even if he wants to share all his feelings?

Heart’s simple coin flip has somehow given her the chance to live out both dates. But where her prom night ends up might be the most surprising thing of all…

Thoughts:

I can totally see that this book would be a perfect, fun, light read for many readers. It’s definitely a piece of teenage fiction, so I appreciate that I’m not the target audience. Ask Again Later is a story that I could imagine translating to the TV/movie screen easily. It’s one of those books that I would probably lap up as a chick flick, but unfortunately I didn’t find a connection to any of the characters in Ask Again Later. The book was well written and easy enough to read (I read it fairly quickly on holiday) but it’s not a book that will stay with me for a long time.

Ask Again Later is about a girl named Heart, who plans to go to prom with her group of friends. Unexpectedly, two different boys ask her to go to the prom with them for different reasons. Heart flips a coin to try and decide what to do. She doesn’t expect the chance to live out both dates. This may be unrealistic, but it was cutesy and fun to read about. It’s always interesting to read these Sliding Doors-esque stories. Don’t we always wonder what might have happened if we had made a different decision?

The characters in this book are fun and the book does have some wonderful moments. The writing is easy to read and I think many readers will devour this story. I just didn’t connect with it as much as I wanted to!

Would I recommend it?:
It’s not for me!- 2.5 stars. For some reason I could not connect with this book. It’s a light, fun read though, so I’m sure this is just my personal taste. I believe that many readers would enjoy it!

Not a favourite of mine, but definitely a fun, light read for those looking for a quick read!

6 thoughts on “Ask Again Later

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

